Eye update, injuries, and projects

Well, it’s been a little over 2 weeks since Dixie ripped her lower eyelid off.  All in all, it’s healing up pretty dang well, I must say.

It’s still got some healing to do, but I took this last night.  Looks pretty good.  Dixie got out for a drive on Saturday.  It’s safe to say she’s off the ‘injured’ list.  But she’s not off the ‘grossly obese’ list.  LOL.  I’m not going to attempt to muzzle her again, so I don’t have a repeat of the eye incident, but I don’t know what I’m going to do about getting her thinned down.  I will try to work her as much as I can over the winter, even if just to round pen her lard butt.  LOL.

And while Dixie is off the injured list, Chewbacca has gone on it.  Although he’s quickly coming off it.  Chewbacca had a wonderful awesome Sunday at his clinic, and he drove probably better than he’s ever driven.  Every drive he just keeps improving and the more he understands, the more he seems like he’s having fun.  I hope to get in at least a few more drives before the weather gets too cold, it gets dark at 5, and the rain pours down upon us. 

But in the mean time, on Monday, Chewbacca found the only fault in his paddock fence and escaped.  Yep.  Escaped.  As in, off the property escape.  He didn’t go far, and was caught quickly and easily.  He just stayed in the neighbors (unfenced) yard and ate grass.  There were a thousand and one ways that could have gone bad.  All that happened was he got a cut on his shoulder and a leg scraped up.  He looks like he fell off his bike and got skinned up a bit.  Nothing serious thank goodness.  The cut on his shoulder is already healing over after only 24 hours, and weather permitting, he’ll be back to work tomorrow, even if just for a short drive down the road.

Whew.

I have had a horse try to jump *into* a paddock before, and that was Lady.  She ripped all the meat off her bone on her right front leg.  But I can honestly say I’ve never had a horse jump out of a paddock before.  Fence got fixed that night and life is back to normal. 

I told Chewbacca he is grounded and in big trouble.  Then we had a heart to heart about not trying to escape ever again.  It isn’t the first time Chewie’s had a run in with a fence.  The last time, he nearly bled to death.  I didn’t own him at the time, but I was told he severed an artery in his leg and things got ugly and he had to have a blood transfusion.  So for future reference, Chewbacca & fencing don’t mix.

Silly horse.

I’m glad he’s no worse for wear and stayed off the road, although he was dangerously close to it and from what I hear, people stopped traffic while Chewie got caught.

And October, even though my “horse time” tends to start dwindling down to minimal as the weather turns crappy and the daylight gets sucked away, is still promising to be incredibly busy.  I slacked big time on photography practice for September, so I am going to make an effort to practice photography in October, and maybe try some landscapes or something different, too.  Although I don’t know where. 

But October is definitely looking like it will be a project month.  I have plans on uphosltering the seats of my cart, adding pinstriping to the cart, and possibly “boxing in” the open sides near the wheels, too.

In addition to that, we need to clean out our storage unit and have a garage sale in order to make room for the proposed waverunners we want to buy next summer.  That’s going to be a project.  I’m not sure we can clean the space out enough to make room for 2 waverunners.  Hmmm..

And in addition to that… dah dah dah… the big project starts this weekend, and I’ll be taking picture’s o’plenty of this.  You’ve seen pictures of my husband’s truck, right?  The bright orange “tangerine dream”……  ……. well… we’re going to paint the horse trailer to match.

We’ll have the only orange horse trailer in the world, I’ll bet.  LOL.  We’ve got the rollers, we’ve got the pressure washer, we’ve got the paint scrapers, we’ve got the color sample to get the paint mixed to.  This weekend starts phase 1: power washing, scraping, and prepping.

The outside is going to be orange with a black bottom and black pinstriping to match the truck.  The inside I plan to clean thoroughly, scrape, and give a new coat of white paint to, and the divider on the inside I plan to pad with orange vinyl.  I hope the horses load into their new orange rolling pumpkin.  🙂

So this should be fun.  And somehow in between all that work, I’ll still continue to work the 4 horses for as much as I can.  I’m getting exhausted just thinking about all this work.  Sheesh.

Have a good one!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in horse, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eye update, injuries, and projects

  1. Can’t wait to see pics of the trailer when you’re done! And naughty, escaping ponies!

Leave a Reply

