Working Day

If I have ever once said before how proud I am of Chewbacca, I take it all back.  For until today, I’ve never been quite so proud.  Only thing better will be if/when we get to compete and (hopefully) bring home a {{blue}} ribbon.  LOL.

After having their free-time frenzy yesterday, I put myself, my husband, Luke and Chewbacca to work bright and early this morning.  The rain stayed away (YAY!) – another reason to be uber happy.  And at 730am we were at the barn hitching trailers, loading carts, and getting horses.  We had our driving clinic today at a farm about 45 minutes from home.  It was all of us’ first time having a driving lesson and everything could not have possibly gone better.

From the moment I haltered them in the morning to the moment I turned them back out much later in the afternoon, Luke and Chewbacca were operating on phenomenal manners.

What a great day, and a great experience for all of us.


Chewbacca went first and we warmed up in the driveway next to the barn….He did fantastic seeing a new place full of horses, with the cart in tow, from between the blinkers.  How could I possibly have asked anything more?

The farm we went to for the clinic was huge, too.  By far the biggest place I’ve ever been to.  It sits on 600 acres and has a 5acre outdoor arena.  We were in a much smaller arena, but even that was huge.  I think it was 150 x 300 maybe?  Huge.

And on top of that, the fencing is rather unusual fencing.  It’s made from tire, so it’s all black rubber.  It looks neat and nice, but when the horses are used to seeing regular gray wood fencing, it does look a little different.

Neither horse batted an eye at it all.  Heck, neither one of them looked sideways at anything at all.  They stood tied to the trailer eating their hay like angels and just worked so very very hard for us during the clinic.

My hubby got some pictures and video, then he had to go hitch up Luke.  After Chewie warmed up, the trainer started working with us more on flexion.

Definitely got some homework there.  He showed me how to ask Chewie the best to flex, and Chewie seemed to pick up on it pretty well.  Consistency is something else entirely, but he did definitely understand what I was asking for when I asked for it.

And here he is working in a beautiful frame.  He worked so very hard – really moving out at the trot, and really framing up towards the end.  We cut my 45 min lesson a little short because Chewie did so well and tried so hard, we just picked a flawless spot to end and let him take a big deep breath and stretch.

Here is a brief video of us at work in the arena:

http://s43.photobucket.com/albums/e393/KShai/Klaus%20Klinic/?action=view&current=ChewieClinic.mp4

And then, entre le husband…

Luke just thought he was at another show… with no competitors, lol.  He strutted his stuff and my husband learned some tricks and tips about keeping Luke from counter bending- a bad habit Luke does frequently.

And then,…… hold your britches…

<<<drumroll please…>>> Luke, cantering!   This is very rare.  They don’t do it often.

And, do you think my husband had fun cantering Luke all around that big arena?

Hmm… if that smile doesn’t say so…  lol.

and here is a short video of Luke at work:

http://s43.photobucket.com/albums/e393/KShai/Klaus%20Klinic/?action=view&current=LukeClinic.mp4

And even more rare — the 4 of us together!!!!!

Whew…  we’re all wiped.  The horses got a rub down and were happy to get back home.  I was happy the rain held off and the way the day went.  My husband was happy to get back home and vegitate.  What a tiring, but so incredibly worthwhile day!!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

