Chewbacca, Drive 23

It was a lovely morning today, and I started off in true Saturday morning fashion at the barn, ready to go.  With Luke and Chewbacca both tacked up, after a short drive in the arena, we went out onto the roads.  It was Chewie’s first time out on the road with the vehicle behind him.  He did EXCELLENT!  I’m SOOOooo proud and looking way forward to getting him out again in a few days on the road once more.

He ambled along happily with his head down and we meandered over down the road to the trails.  We went ahead of Luke and switched out and switched back.  We walked & trotted along the road, the hay field, through the woods, and up a hill into the fields.  Chewbacca did super. Super. Super. Super.  It was great!!!

Luke of course did spectacular, too.  He had a nice, much needed, relaxing drive that was mostly walking.  Luke’s been working real hard for me lately, and I’ve been trotting him out for 2- 2 1/2 miles of our 3 – 3 1/2 mile drives, so he’s earned a bit of a pre- winter break break.

Luke and Chewbacca have a driving clinic coming up in a few weeks.  That will be fun, and it will be me, my husbands, and both horses’ first official driving lesson, too.

I don’t have any pictures of our spectacular trail drive today, because we didn’t bring the camera out with us, nor did we have our phones on us.

Oh, and speaking of phones… we both “re-got” the Android phones.  After the pain in the patoot they were the first time around, we didn’t think we’d get them again, but we did.  And they seem to be working well now, so I think we’ll keep them this time.  I know, we’re crazy.

Dixie went out for a drive too, and other than a few minor meltdowns in true “evil- Dixie” fashion, which involved backing up across the whole road, stopping dead, spinning around, and ramming the cart into trees/bushes/ and fences… she did well.  Evil Dixie hasn’t made an appearance in months, but today something put her tail in a twist and it took about 2 miles to iron it out.  She did good on the “return trip” home.

And … da da da da… pictures!!

Yes, the only pictures I have today are actually not of any of my horses.  But here’s Jesse on his drive # 6 or is it 7 ?  I’m not keeping track real well with him.  He did super, though.

He really is doing very well.  He moves well.  He has 3 different and well defined trots, although right now we are in the “master the going slow before we go faster” phase.

He carries his head naturally flexed and he has lots of hind impulsion.  Comes in handy when he leaps forward into “jump-itions” instead of transitions, and when a bird chirps and he thinks it’s a horse eating monster… that hind end impulsion really works.  LOL.  Need to work on that a bit.  But at least he does have a good motor.  He could just trot around all day, I do believe.

And, he actually bends for a mini!  Holy smokes!!

He has some kinks to work out, but once he’s all polished all pretty, he is going to be as spectacular as Luke, I have no doubts.  I would like to try to show him next year… but he needs to get over the “OH MY GOD IT’S GOING TO EAT ME” reaction to EVERY – SINGLE – THING.

Ok, he’s not that bad, but he does jump forward from time to time and is still a little skittish.  He’s come a long way, though, and he too, has a favorite gait of “whoa”.    Stands perfectly for “free-hitching” out in the arena and does not move a muscle.  A far cry from the fights we had at first about what the meaning of “whoa” actually was.

So I hope to get pictures of the horses I actually own soon… and definitely at the clinic, too.

Have a good weekend!

 

Remember 9/11

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, miniature horse, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

