Dieting- what I didn’t think about

Everything you do has consequences, you know.  Some are good, some not.  But you should think about the consquences of your actions, right?  Well, it’s been 26 weeks since I started dieting way the heck back in February.  All I could think about was losing weight.    Not losing weight so I could go back to riding, but just losing weight because that was part of the reason I stopped riding in the first place.

I didn’t think about needing a whole new wardrobe!!! LOL.

Seriously!

This morning, my scale told me I have lost 43 pounds… SO FAR.  I still have 17 to go to reach my goal weight and then some on top of that just for icing if I can manage.  I’d love to lose 27 more pounds, but I have a goal and anything I get beyond that would be super cool.

So it’s been a 6 1/2 month labor to get down 43 pounds, and I suppose it’s been creeping up on me for a while as my weight’s been creeping down.  I didn’t really begin to notice it until yesterday.  A safety pin in the waist of a pair of pants here, another one there.. two in the thighs to bring them in…  Suddenly yesterday I was putting a safety pin a shirt for the first time.

Then it hit me… Oh lawd, I need to buy new clothes.  And not just one or two things.  I need a whole new dang wardrobe.  Everything in my closet it loosening up.  I have pants that used to be tight on me that are so baggy now I need to safety pin them and roll the waist.  I have some pants that I can now fit both legs on the same side they are so baggy.  I have shirts that used to be skiiiiin tight that I’d only wear as under shirts that are now loose enough they are saggy.  My loose fitting shirts are now hanging off my shoulders and drooping down in front way too much.    My V-neck shirts are becoming V-belly button shirts.  LOL. 

So this is a good thing… but there is a problem…..

Can’t afford a new wardrobe!  ha!!!  Of course, I’m still losing, so while I did treat myself today to new pants and a few new shirts, I know I’m going to have to get rid of them in a few more months as I continue to drop.

What an accomplish-ing year it’s been so far.  I estimate it will be Christmas before I am down to or past my goal, maybe a little sooner.  But having come this far, I have no doubts I can do it for sure.  I’m so close it isn’t even funny. 

I’ve accomplished something this year that I have not been able to do in the last 6.  I’m losing this weight.  Finally. 

And!  I’ve also done something I have never been able to do in the last 20 years…  train a horse to do something!  Not 1, but actually 2!!  Chewbacca is doing so well with driving it’s awesome, and I can be proud of the fact that I trained him to do it from scratch.  And also Jesse.  He was my “see if I could do it for the heck of it” project, and he has now had 3 drives.  He is doing well.  He’s still kind of spooky and a little unsure, but he is really doing super and I look forward to continuing with him, showing Chewbacca and possibly even Jesse, too, and dropping the rest of this weight!  …. and getting new clothes 😉

Published by KShai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working and life-loving 40- something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.

2 thoughts on “Dieting- what I didn’t think about

Leave a comment