Busy, but super awesome!

Working four horses is enough to tucker me out!  Whooo…

Fortunately, they are 4 truly very great horses.

I feel super lucky to have the opportunity to be immersed in so many awesome horses.  For many many years that I rode, things were hit and miss.  My first and second horses were awesome, truly wonderful animals… and then, there was a lot of “in betweeners” from then till now, and a whole lot of frustration and issues.  Years ago, when I had Spyder, and things were going right, I felt like I was a good path with a good horse.  That path ended in disaster, and ultimately, although it took years, was the path that led to me no longer riding.

Once again, I feel like I’m on the right path.  I’m kind of holding my breath, wondering when things will go bust.  Because I know they will.  But in the mean time, I really am just relishing the warm days, and fantastic horses I get to be around.

And they are keeping me busy.  Happy.  But busy.

First up on the agenda today was Dixie.  It was cool when I got to the barn in the early morning and I took her out for a couple miles down the road.  We even went past the dreaded donkey, which is no longer a big deal anymore.  But the geese are still an issue. Lol.  She did great, though.  Really great.

Second on the workout schedule was Luke.  I set up cones in the arena and worked him on cones.  I ran over a few, but oh well.  LOL.  Luke did super.  Of course.  And for a cool down, we walked down the road to the fields across the street.

http://s43.photobucket.com/albums/e393/KShai/?action=view&current=Luke82711.mp4

After that, came Chewie.  And of course, I wanted to try him on cones, too.  I had to re-set the cones I squashed with Luke, and then cracked out Chewbacca…

         

… who is now the “complete package” with all the lime green accessories I could possibly want.  I have lime polo wraps for his back legs, and when I get better pictures, I’ll put them on.  But I love his new brow band and nose band!  🙂 🙂

So, anyway, I took Chewbacca around the arena on the cones course I set up, and he did awesome!  Once he figured out what the heck I wanted and why I kept asking for more speed, he was really barrelling through some tight turns and hitting the gas pedal.  I took him for a brief jaunt afterward on the driveway and then he was off to dine on his sweet feed snack with his vitamins.  What a good baby.  This was drive 17, I think.  I’m starting to lose track.  He’ll be more than ready to hit the roads soon.

And lastly, came the Jesse project….. Jesse is a really, really cool little guy.  He is rough around the edges, but coming along super duper uper.  And I knew he was ready to be hitched.  I had no doubts.  And I hitched him, got in the cart, and he walked off like he’d been driving for ten years.  What a great little guy!!  I drove him single-handed the whole time, and just walked around the arena.  His first drive in who knows how long and he did twice as well as Dixie, and about pretty much level with Luke and Chewbacca.  What a good boy!

http://s43.photobucket.com/albums/e393/KShai/?action=view&current=jesse82711.mp4

Yes, he is wearing Dixie’s harness.  He’s not mine, so I’m not about to buy him a harness, but I think he needs a blue crystal harness, with blue biothane reins.  What do you think?

More pictures tomorrow!  Play day for everyone.  They earned it today.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, miniature horse, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Busy, but super awesome!

  1. Dom says:

    Loving the lime green.

  2. skenn454 says:

    Lime green is fantastic! In amish country all we see is black on black, with some black mixed in!

    • kshai1715 says:

      I definitely wanted the “stand out” look 🙂 I’ve got the lime green for one, insanely bright orange for another, and hot pink for yet another. 🙂 I try to dress to match my horses sometimes, too 🙂 Ha! Can’t wait to someday get my lime out on the marathon course.

Leave a Reply

