Horsie Updates

What a week it’s been.  I still have not finished the video of the horse show from last weekend, but I have a goal to get that done this weekend and I’ll get it posted as soon as I can.  I am still workin on the video from the lions, too.  I have been having issues with the video program I was using not working right, and so I needed to delete everything and completely start over.  Bummer.  But I hope to get that working properly this weekend, too with a new program.

As far as horses go… I need to get some pictures !  Ugh!  Totally slacking there.  So I am on a mission to get pictures this weekend.

Luke, after spending nearly 2 hours working at the horse show, earned most of the week off.  I took him out yesterday for 3 1/2 miles, and he was on fire.  Sheesh.  I guess maybe I shouldn’t have given him 4 days off after the show.  He’s a hackney, what can I say.  He’s such a good boy.  If I had the time, I think I would have taken him another 3 1/2 miles yesterday and he still would have left over engery.  Definitely a little pent up.  He could do with a good play time in the arena this weekend.  I plan on driving him tomorrow, maybe practicing cones if I can manage to do that myself, and he can have a play day Sunday.

Chewbacca worked both Tues & Thurs.  He is up to drive #16 now.  He’s doing GREAT. Super great!  I need to get shoes put on him, though.  He is having issues with the gravel driveway.  And there are some rocks in the arena that can’t be avoided.  So, he’s getting shoes next week when the farrier’s out.  All around, too.   His lime brow & nose band are in the mail, so I can’t wait to get them! And get pictures!  We are currently working on the first driven dressage test, training 1 and he’s doing super.  I am hopeful maybe by October, we can get out to the last show of the year.  There is also a driving clinic I’d like to participate in next month with Chewbacca.  So we’ll just have to see what happens on both accounts. But I am optmistic. 🙂

Dixie has been great, too.  She went out for a short drive the other day down the road.  I think her “old age” is finally catching up to her.  She is 16, you know.  She’s not a spry spring chicken anymore, which I think is accounting for her change in manners recently.  She’s even been free-standing still to hitch.  WHAT?  Where DID this Dixie come from???

And last, but not least, Jesse.  The other mini in my life at the moment.  He is a little taller than Dixie.  I haven’t measured him exactly, but I know Dixie is 36″. I think Jesse has 2″ on her.  So he’s got to be 38″.  He’s tall for a mini.  And maybe that accounts for the way he moves.  He moves like a horse.  Not like a mini.  If you’ve seen mini’s go, you know what I mean… dit dit dit dit dit dit dit… those little legs just go go go.  Jesse moves with an actual “stride”.  He can collect down into a super super park gait, and works readily in a working trot.  And when you ask him to extend into a road gait, he moves!  He gets lots of extension and frames up.  He works very naturally on the bit, always with a flexed poll.  What a trooper, and what an improvement from when I first started working with him.  He is still skittish, but he’s getting better about everything. And his work ethic is just super.  A far cry from the first few days in the round pen when he tried every which way to get out of working.  He’s been dragging poles and pulling wood.  He’s ready to be hitched.  That’s going to be my weekend project.  That and pictures!  Maybe eventually I’ll get to show Jesse, too, when he’s ready. Which won’t be until next year. 

Lots of things planned for this weekend!  Pictures, videos, horses, car shows.  Oh boy.  Stay tuned…..

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, miniature horse, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

