Good Weather, Good Drives…

I’m still here!  It’s been a little while since I’ve posted.  Nothing terribly new happening, but as they say, no news is good news.

The weather has gotten about 10-15 degrees cooler, so we are all enjoying the mid-70’s/low 80’s.  And the perfect weather has led me, my husband, and the horses all to having perfect drives lately.

Luke is being prepped for a show this coming weekend, so I will have plenty of pictures then!  Managed to convince my husband to finally show him now that show season is almost over!  I don’t think there’s any more shows after this one. Wish him luck!

Chewbacca has had 3 more drives this past week.  He is now on drive #11.  He is doing fantastic.  I plan to start working him out of the arena more, but I want to get shoes on him first. 

Dixie is doing great, too!  Fat and sassy as ever, but she’s been driving like a good girl and recently went out for about 3 miles.

And Jesse is doing excellent as well!! I’ve worked with him 6 times now and every time I see more old training shining through as the dust gets wiped off,  and I learn more about his personality.  He’s very introverted and not a “pocket pony” type.  He works because you tell him to, not because he likes you or likes to please.  He’s a little skittish and wary of where you are and what you’re doing, but he doesn’t have a mean bone in him.  Stubborn, maybe, and buddy sour, but not mean.  He has had enough training on him to know every trick in the book on how to get out of work.  I’ve learned quickly that if you just “argue” your way through his little antics, he moves on and finds something new to fight about.  But really, he is doing well.  He steers like a champ, and he actually flexes onto the bit, too!  Imagine that.  He can really move well when he’s travelling like he’s got somewhere to go, too.  I’ve begun working him with PVC poles, and I believe he is about 6 sessions away from being hitched.  I’ll have to get pictures. 

I have been completely slacking on pictures, photoshop learning, and all things photography.  Heck, it’s already halfway through August and I haven’t done pictures of the horses yet this month.  (I take pictures of them every month).  So, with the horse show this coming weekend and the beautiful weather, I have no excuse to not take pictures!  So, pictures to come!  (eventually…..)

My diet has hit a massive roadblock.  Ugh.  I am 6 months into this and 36 pounds down. I am more than halfway through my 60 pound goal, and I have been STUCK for the last 3 weeks.  Haven’t dropped a pound.  I’ve gone up, then down, then up, then down, but not down past 36 pounds.  Totally stuck and very frustrated.  grrr….  I think I am “maintaining” when I want to be losing!!  I need to make a chance in my diet.  I’ve stopped eating sugar, stay completely away from high fructose corn syrup and processed sugars, too.  I don’t eat snacks like potato chips anymore, either.  Right now my diet consists of pretty much just yogurt and fish.  But I still have carbs, too.  I’m trying to cut out carbs, but sometimes I have a bun, or snack on crackers.  I hate to say it, but the next step I need to take to get down the 25 more pounds may be to quit carbs! (oh no!)

So as of today, I’m going carb-free.  See if that will last more than a few days, lol!  But I need to try something to start the losing again.

Well, that’s all, folks!

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, miniature horse, Photography, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good Weather, Good Drives…

  1. Tracie Noel says:

    Congrats on your weight loss so far! I don’t know how strenuously you want to avoid carbs, but having just come off two weeks of the Atkins Diet myself (< 22 g. of carbs/day), I thought I'd chime in. I can tell you, it is NOT easy to do, but YES, it does indeed work…. the first three days are the worst. I was crabby, cranky and bitchy and felt pretty darn strange altogether. You lose "feeling full" and your body does its best to convince you it's just gonna diiiiieeeee without a sugar infusion. But then, ketosis kicks in, your tummy shrinks and you start to feel better. I lost my usual tendency to be full of gas, which was a nice side effect. One caveat: you'd better like eggs one heckuva lot because that's pretty much all there is to eat for breakfast. I was varying how I fixed them, and alternating sausage and bacon alongside. I mostly ate eggs and meat for b'fast, salad (usually w/ meat) for lunch, and meat or fish and a couple veggies for dinner.

    Here are some things/products I found that were low/no carb and tasted pretty darn good:
    – celery sticks with cream cheese or Laughing Cow spreadable cheese makes a great side w/ lunch meat for a portable lunch
    – Ocean Spray Diet Cranberry and Diet Cran-Grape juices are great (I gotta have my juice in the AM so I was thrilled to discover these, w/ only 3 g. carbs for the whole bottle.)
    – Atkins brand Fruit and Nut bars, Peanut Butter Chocolate bars, and Chocolate Chip Granola bars (these are all hideously expensive but worth every penny, IMO. Gives you a b'fast alternative and a great snack that won't wreck the diet. The PBC bars are actually almost like a Snickers!)
    – Tuna right out of the can and hardboiled egg in a (small) tomato is great
    – Panera Chicken Caesar salad w/ dressing is AWESOME and you can load on the dressing, it's A-okay
    Buying lots of meat can be expensive but the diet did work as I'd hoped, so it was definitely worth it. I hope these tips are a little helpful to you.

    • kshai1715 says:

      Well, cutting carbs has definitely proven to be my nemesis. It seems I just caaaaann’t. LOL. Still trying to work on that. I only have 22 pounds to go to reach the high end of my goal weight. I’d like to get back down to 132, but I’ll be happy if I can get to 138, and I’m sooo close. 🙂 It’s been a long journey, but I am getting there. Do have to work on the carb problem, though. Fortunately, I do love eggs. Sometimes I have them for dinner, if I get home late from the barn and don’t want to cook fish. But as far as breakfast (and lunch for that matter), all I eat is Fage yogurt if I eat at all. I try to have 2 yogurts every day, and then fish (or eggs) for dinner. And the occaisional buffalo wings 🙂 LOL . Gotta splurge, right!?!

Leave a Reply

