Bienenstich

Brief horse update:  Luke and Dixie went for good long drives both days this past weekend.  After a week of rain, it was nice to get out and do something constructive.  They were great.  Dixie was awesome by herself out on the road- until we had a deer cross the street in front of us.  Oh yea.  Fortunately, we got over that, and she trotted on like a good girl after a moment where she flipped out so bad, we were in the middle of the road and I had to get out of the cart and hand walk her.  That’s the typical Dixie, but this was an extraneous event, so I won’t hold it against her.I added some distance on Luke’s drive, and think we went out for 4 1/4 miles this morning.  It was relaxing, which I needed after the stress I’ve been under with Chewbacca learning to drive.

I took Chewbacca to a trainer’s barn on Wednesday.  His training didn’t work out.   He probably isn’t going to learn to drive.  Period. 

In other news… let’s talk about something more fun, and a little sweeter – cakes!

This Wednesday is my husband’s birthday.  The other week we were talking about cakes and then I brought up about his birthday, and he mentioned a cake he had in Germany when he was a kid.  Bienenstich.  He said his mom’s made it over the years for him, too, and he hasn’t had it probably 15 years.  So… I cracked out the google machine and put in “german almond cake” because I couldn’t remember how to spell Bienenstich 🙂  LOL.  I found recipes, and thought it would be nice to make him this cake.  I’m no Betty Croker, and the last time I tried to bake a cake was probably 5 years ago.  I can’t even bake pre-made cookies. I  just eat the dough since I always burn the cookies. 🙂

Bienenstich is a cream filled 2-layer cake with baked almonds on the top.  I combined elements from 3 different recipes to make this, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it tastes OK.  Instead of using custard for fill, I’m using a combination of pudding and almond paste.  I’m not really sure what custard is exactly, and i couldn’t find it in the store, and had no intentions of trying to make it on my own! LOL.

But, determined to make Bienenstich –

-I  cracked out all my supplies…

..mixed up the dough…

.. and then started the honey/almond topping (with sugar & butter)…

Now, doesn’t that look yummy?  And for good measure, since this is blowing apart our diets anyway, I added some brown sugar and extra honey to the topping.

Once the cakes were baked, I shoved them in the fridge to cool and once they were cool, I took out the bottom portion and spread on my pudding & almond paste mixture…

and then, I plopped the top portion on.

No icing required.  Cake was done.  Doesn’t that look good?

So, then I surprise my husband with the cake, only to find out, he asked his mom to make it for him!  LOL.  Now we’ll have 2 bienenstich.  Considering his mom is straight off the boat German, came over here in 1944 when a few other bad things were going on in Germany, I guess we’ll just have to see who’s tastes better and how close my bienenstich comes to hers.

Ha!  Bienenstich duels.  And more cake than I’ve eaten in the last few years combined!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, horse, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bienenstich

  1. L Phillip says:

    I have been following your blog ever since you posted about your riding issues on COTH. I can understand some of what you are feeling as I have had my own various setbacks, wrong horses, wrong instructors, loss of confidence, etc. I have a draft mare that I ride and drive, well rode and drove…… she has some sort of lameness, neurological issues that we are still working to identify. Right now we are treating for EPM, but her useable future is still uncertain.

    No, not all horses can drive. But you know that. I also think that based on what I am seeing in your blog, that I would not give up on Chewie driving yet. I would look for a different trainer before giving up. Now I am no trainer myself that is for sure! But I have been through the mill with different trainers and riding instructors. Don’t give up yet. And try not to be so hard on yourself. I bet you are more capable than you think. But I know exactly how you are feeling as it seemed that every horse I owned or messed with ended up with my number. It is an awful feeling to want to do something you love sooooo badly and feel like you aren’t capable. Get Chewie back to ground driving quietly like you had him. Start ground driving him down the road. You don’t have to stay in the area dragging tires. Put on your walking shoes and ground drive him on your regular driving routes. Good luck. So much of what you write is how I have felt and still feel a lot of the time. Right now I am riding with a fantastic instructor and hoping that some of those feelings will go away, maybe this time for good!

Leave a Reply

