Finally Hit 30! And Luke is Famous!

It’s a little weird in the house these days without the 5 foot tall ferret condo.  There’s literally a big empty space in our home.  Although, after losing a total of 4 ferrets over the last 7 years, my husband and I have agreed to not get any more animals.  We are a ferret free household these days and the big cage is out in the shed until we sell it.  We love our animals dearly, and still haven’t quite adjusted to not having Ariel anymore.  Yesterday morning I went to feed her.  And I couldn’t quite figure out why her cage wasn’t there.

Big or small it’s hard to adjust to losing an animal.  I still think about Tate, my buckskin QH that was put down in November of 2009.  And of course, barely a day goes by when I don’t think of my beloved Lady.  Gone, but never forgotten.  Ever.

In other, happier news….

Yesterday was a beauty of a day, cool and sunny and 70, and I managed to get both Chewbacca and Luke worked.  Chewbacca is pulling those 2 tires like a pro.  He has had the last 9 working days pulling tires.  He offered no antics during his work yesterday and I even tried to sit on the tires and get him to pull.  He gave it a good go, and managed to pull forward so hard he knocked me clean off the tires! LOL.  But he did not pull me around the arena.  although I have to give him credit, he DID try VERY VERY hard.  But the tires just sink and really don’t drag with me on them.  I don’t think even Luke would pull me on them since there’s so much drag and not enough roll.  LOL.

I am really really wanting to try Chewbacca on the cart again, but I think it’s too soon.  Only 9 times with the tires when he should have about 20 or 30 even.  I just don’t want to rush things and assume he’s ready for something he’s not like I did before.  He has officially had 30 sessions of ground driving now, and I do see a ton of progress.  Plus, the trainer will be starting next week to work with Chewie.  He’s going to drop him all he way to round pen basics and move up from there.  He’s not sure he’ll even get Chewbacca in the cart in the 4 weeks I can pay him for, but hopefully by the end of July-ish, Chewie will be at least ready for more.

And, I have hit 30!!!!   30 pounds of weight loss that is.  I was holding quite steady (frustratingly so) at 28 pounds down, and for the love of anything I just could not seem to get down further for the last 2-3 weeks.  I woke up this morning and weighed in and I am down 30 pounds finally.  Now I have 33 more to go.  I’m almost halfway to my goal.

And Luke is Famous!  Yay!

Check it out.

I’ve been dealing with Big Black Horse for 2 months, driving the owners nuts no doubt, as I slowly made a decision on what harness to get for Luke, and then I decided to get the one for Chewbacca, and I’m even doing an upgrade to Dixie’s harness, too.  Jeff at BBH has been unbelievably helpful to deal with and extremely patient with me.  A big kudos to him and if you are in need of horse supplies or pet/horse home decor and gifts, I highly recommend you check them out!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, miniature horse, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

