Body Clipping Part 2 and Luke’s New Doo

Today was a long, but yet constructive day at the barn.  I spent a little over 6 hours there, but I had lots to do. (And, thus… lots of pictures).

First on the agenda was a little (MUCH NEEDED) play time for Luke & Chewie.  I’ve been spending almost every day working Chewie and really have not let him just go be a horse for a short while.  Maybe that accounted for part of his ghastly poor behaviour the other day when the trainer was there.

So anyway…

                             

Luke figured something was up.  Chewie went to investigate his tires.  I wonder if he was checking to see if I’d be putting them on?  Oh yeah, Chewie, you’re going to drag tires today….

A little encouragement got them both rockin and rollin’

      

How can you not love a pony that moves like this??

Oh, and Chewbacca did a self-test of his spring system…

. .. boing…..  

….boing….

… boing….

Yep.  Everything works.  Good to know.

Is that close enough to call a canter pirouette?  LOL.

So, back on Monday, when it was actually a hundred out, I body clipped the Dixie monster.  I also <started> to body clip her mini buddy, Jesse….

Meet Jesse…

Jess is a little hair ball….

….. see?!!!

Alas, though, after the clipper meltdown on Monday, I completed the Jesse Job this morning.

                                          


All finished!!!  He was a little unsure about who I was or why I was clipping him, but he trooped through it all fine.  I am (if I have any time this summer) going to try to see if Jesse drives.  The barn owner owns him now, and she bought him from a boarder who was moving or something and couldn’t/didn’t want to deal with owning a horse.  That person never did anything with Jesse while she owned him for a few years I think, but she told me that the people she bought him from maybe kinda sort of taught him to drive.  Follow?  LOL.

In other words, I’m going to put him on some long lines and see if I have better luck getting Jesse to drive than I do Chewbacca…

And… speaking of Chewbacca…

While Thursday he was a total ASS in the arena, and barely cooperative, and yes, he was a little bit on my shit list today for that… he pulled out the picture of perfection today during his work out.  He ground drove beautifully, and then I hooked the tires up and he worked and worked and worked and worked and worked with those 2 tires and the piece of wood.  We did circles, spirals, figure 8’s, long diagonal changes, short diagonal changes, small figure 8’s big figure 8’s… every kind of twist and turn I could think of so the trace lines pushed and pressed into his legs and he had to keep moving forward and pulling those tires through the wet sand.  I even made him drive through the deep corners of the arena where the mud and muck is really deep.  We usually never go through those corners at all, but today, tire and all, I made Chewbacca use the whole arena.

He did GREAT.  He was SO GREAT, in fact, that I really almost wished I put the vehicle on him to see if he’d pull it (empty) at least once around the arena.  But having no help, and not wanting to jump the gun with his progression, I did not.

However, I do have a trainer on the line.  The trainer from Thursday is willing to work with Chewie, and hopefully he’ll start fairly soon and we will see where we get with 30 days of his training.  He’d going to work Chewie 5 days a week, so it will actually be 20 days technically, but hey… 20 days with an experienced trainer is (hopefully) going to be better than the last 40 days he’s been working with me.

And! there’s more!   My husband came out to the barn and we took Luke and Dixie out down the road.  It was officially Dixie’s longest drive.  Last year, I took her out for 2 miles.  Today she did almost 4.  She just trotted right along like it was nothing.  What a good girl!  Didn’t spook at (much) of anything, and was genuinely a real pleasure to drive on the road today.  Where is MY mini?  Because this certainly isn’t the little demon I’m used to…  She was great!

My husband suggested I get Dixie a bright pink pair of biothane reins, and I think that’s a great idea, so I’ve sent an email to the harness guy I’ve been driving crazy for the last 2 months and asked if he has bright pink.

And speaking of BRIGHT…

CHECK….

OUT…

LUKE’S….

ALL….

NEW…

SUPER….

AWESOME…..

ULTRA ….

COMFY….

HARNESS!!!!………….


It cost more than he did (hey, so did the cart for that matter) ((but Luke is priceless of course…)  AND I LOVE IT!!!!  Husband likes it too.  And now that we’ve got it all adjusted to Luke, I’m pretty sure Luke likes it, too.

And I’m sure the people in cars can see Luke coming from a few hundred yards away.  That’s generally the idea.  HIGH VISIBILITY.

Doesn’t he look great?!

My husband said he needs to get a matching dayglow orange shirt for driving Luke.

Well, that’s all for now, like that wasn’t enough.




About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, miniature horse, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

