Bad First Impressions!

Well, my never ending quest to find a local, affordable, and capable driving trainer continued on yesterday when I met with a new trainer.  He seems very nice and capable and is local.  Still working on the affordability part.

The short version is that at this point, it is really impossible to say if Chewbacca will be able to learn to drive or not.  At this point it is impossible to say if my training program thus far has caused problems, or if the harness has caused problems, or if any of it can be moved on past.  Who knows.  I am just trying to take it one training session at a time.

And so yesterday while I have the trainer out, we discuss Chewbacca, the harness, the cart, our progress to this point, and what I’d like to see happen eventually.  And we harness up and head out to the arena. 

……and…….

Chewbacca acted like he’s never been on long reins in his life.  It was a total 180 from where he was as recently as Monday, you know, when he was actually well behaved and working like he should.   First second out in the arena, he jumps around in a circle and ends up twisted in the driving lines.  I get him to move out and we get maybe halfway around and he just stops and starts backing up, turns again and I have to stop and untangle him.  Over and over and over again.  And then when I did finally get him going like a normal horse, he still wasn’t normal.  He was chomping on the bit, fidgeting with his head, tossing it around, running with his head way up in the air.  It was like he was impersonating an untouched 3 year old Arabian stallion straight in from the wilds.

Now, this could not *possibly* have anything to do with the 50 degree temperature drop over night? COULD IT???  We went from 100 to 49, and it was as windy as hell, too.

So once I finally get him going really normal, and he’s trotted around a bunch with his head on the bit and working like he should be, we stop, hitch up the tires and wood, and -….. you guess it… it all started over again.  He wouldn’t pull, kept spinning around, backing up.  I had to unhitch the tires which I’ve NEVER EVER EVER had to do before at all, TWICE just to get him untangled.  Then he would stop and start backing up and he actually walked backwards ontop of the wood and tires. 

It was a disaster.  The trainer kept saying “this is a horse that doesn’t want to work” and I kept saying “I swear he’s NEVER done this badly before.EVER.”

Puh-leeezze believe me Mr. Trainer, sir, p-p-p-puh-lleeezze.. 

Oh boy.

Back to the bump and grind tomorrow, that’s for sure.  I think I may work Chewie until he bleeds.  Cold temps and all.  Watch, of course, he’ll be perfect, though.

I’m waiting word back from the trainer if he can (or wants to) take on Chewie, and after the impression we made… I don’t know if he’s going to!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, horse, Quarter Horse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

