Derby Down the Drain, but…

Well, with this being the first (and only) time in my life I would have gotten to see the Kentucky Derby live, I really wanted it to be an enjoyable time.  It is calling for rain and thunderstorms all day on Saturday and it does not look hopeful to improve.  So I can either go and stand in the infield under a parka all day and not take a single picture because I don’t want the camera to get wet… or I just put it off another year.  Hey, it’s only  been 15, so what does one more year matter?  Right…

So then it’s a matter of do I still take a vacation as planned?

Yes, yes I do.  And of course, I’ll place my wager on the Kentucky Derby at an off track betting place, lol.

New vacation plan B is to go to the Titanic Museum in Branson, Mo.  Something else I’ve been wanting to do since I found out it existed about 5 years ago.  I’ve had an interest in Titanic as long as I can remember- long before the James Cameron movie came out, LOL.  I’ve read numerous Nat Geo mags that featured Titanic and have watched just about every Titanic special on TV in the last 20 years or so if not longer.  And read a ton of books about the ship.  I’m looking forward to seeing the Titanic museum and Branson looks like a fun, fun place to visit.  So it should end up being a nice weekend for both of us.

I’ve come to an agreement with the owner of the Meadowbrook and I’ll be getting that soon.  More to come on that, with pictures, of course.

In the mean time, it was raining today too (what a surprise) so no working horses.  I’ll probably not work them tomorrow, either, which means they get the whole week off.  Lucky ponies.  But when I get back, Chewbacca is going to learn to be a cart horse.  Oh boy.  I hope we’re ready!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, horse and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Derby Down the Drain, but…

  1. Lana says:

    Hi Amanda,

    Sorry to hear your Kentucky Derby plans got cancelled, but you will love Branson, and the Titanic museum. We went there a few years back. It is really kinda neat. Don’t forget to hit the boardwalk area – really nice shopping area along the river. I wouldn’t want to go to the derby in the rain anyway either. If I am going to do a trip like that, I want good weather to enjoy it! Have fun.
    Lana

    • kshai1715 says:

      Good to hear from you!! Hope you are doing well!!! Unfortunately it looks like Branson is out, too. I’ll just have to wait on finally getting to see the Titanic Museum for a while. Who knows. I’m still kind of tempted to just go to the Derby. I haven’t cancelled the hotel yet. 🙂 Maybe it would all turn out for the best and not rain….. but knowing my incredible lucky luck, I’d get poured on. I would much rather go when it’s sunny and warm. So it looks like I’ll be seeing the Derby from my living room after all. Again. ho hum. But hey, if I get my trailer back, I’ll have an extra weekend to play with Chewie and his fancy new cart! woot!

  2. Tracie Noel says:

    Hey, I was going to tell you that the Titanic Museum is excellent, but now I see you might not do that, either. We live outside of St. Louis and our one trip to Branson was specifically to see that museum, as a surprise for my son. He’s is a huge Titanic fan, and he about pooped his britches when he saw the prow of the boat on the horizon. It’s really well done!

    Drat for you… but maybe you’ll still go to the Derby (see my blog for my picks, btw). I, too, have been saying for about 20 years “Next year I’m GOING to the race,” and haven’t done it, so you’re in good company. I would also like to avoid the infield fracas and get a grandstand seat, but good luck with that. I went to the WEG, and now I’m planning on a Rolex trip, so maybe, just maybe, I’ll get my act together and make it to the Derby one year as well.

    Have a good weekend whatever you do. And for the record, I think your training with Chewie seems to be going well. I think he was just overwhelmed by the extra weight in the sled coupled with the strange angle for pulling. I would go back to what was working for a while and get his and your confidence back up, then progress (maybe wait for the trainer, too).

Leave a Reply

