Harness training Day 7

I guess this makes 2 weeks that I’ve been working with Chewbacca in harness.  Day 1 was just intro wearing the harness and blinder bridle.  So, there’s actually only been 6 days of work actually on ground driving in the last 2 weeks.

Chewbacca is going worlds and worlds well.  I gave him a short driving lesson today.  I just went up and down the driveway.  It was a first in a few ways:

a) the weather was awful.  It was windy and cold and threatening to rain, which is why I kept it short and productive, but it also gave noise/sounds/ and things blowing for him to consider.

b)it was the first time I ground drove him outside of the arena at all.

Creative steering around the tree, cars, and other random things I turned into obstacles?  Check.

c) it was the first time I ground drove him at all in the blinder bridle.  Today he wore the full harness for the first time.


We went up, down, all around.  He did great!  And these pictures were taken with my cell phone while I was walking behind him and using 1 hand for the lines and 1 hand for the phone.

 

Super most awesome horse ever?  Check.

 

Cart?  probably check.

I looked at the black cart today and the thing is beautiful.  I am fairly sure it will fit Chewie and I think it will fit on the trailer for hauling it.  Need to double check.  I let the owner know that in 2 weeks, If I don’t find any other options I like at the horse fair, I’ll be back out to bring the cart home.

It’s a little taller than I expected, but I’m so used to Luke’s cart.  The vehicle is tall enough to fit a full size horse, so it *has* to be tall.  It’s lovely.  It is approximately 100 years old give or take a decade, too.  I really really like it.  A little scary to crawl up in to and get out of, but I’m sure it’s something  I (and Chewbacca) will get used to over time.

Plus, since the horse fair is 2 weeks away, I’ll have 2 more weeks (which should be 6-7 more sessions of training) to play with Chewbacca pulling things and then I’ll see where I’m at from there.  It was never my intention to train him myself.  I don’t think I’m capable.  Getting him to ground drive is one thing.  Accepting the blinders and limited vision is another.  But actually hitching him up and teaching him how to pull a cart?  I don’t know deep down if I can do that much with him.  Still, I’d like to have the cart for when we’re both ready.

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, horse, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

