What a crappy day!

And I actually am not talking about my horse woes.

I’m talking about the weather! YUK!!  it’s rainy, dreary, and miserable out.  It was pretty nasty yesterday too and today is just awful, awful weather.  I was hoping to ground drive Luke and Chewbacca, but I guess that won’t be getting done.

Chewie’s new harness came in and I tried it on him last night after the saddle fitter left.  The harness is OK.  It’s just cheap but it will work fine for ground driving and driving schooling.  There’s a few pieces to it I don’t like and will replace.

The saddle fitter told me I need a new saddle. He watched the videos of me riding and said he thought the saddle was pushing me out of balance and causing to slip backwards, causing my right leg to slip behind the girth, causing me to get off balance.  Lots of causes that all make sense.  He showed me that I need to place the saddle farther back, he said “all you hunter people place the saddle on the shoulders”, and that’s too far forward.  Everything he said makes sense and sounds like a nice sensible solution to saddle fitting, but what do I know.

In the mean time, I need to work on me.  I’m preparing to start an exercise program, although still reasearching the numerous suggestions I’ve gotten on COTH, so I can build a stronger core.

I’ve been dieting for the last 3 weeks.  I’m down 10 pounds.  I’ll admit, when I started this diet back around the end of February, I thought my biggest riding problem was my weight.  I weighed 198.  My weight’s a big factor, the saddle is a factor, but mostly my out-of-shape-ness is the biggest factor.  Getting down in weight and getting fit and stronger muscles, I’ve been told will help incredibly.

So, I’m down now to 188.  That sounds nice doesn’t it?  For me, losing 10 pounds is EASY.  I mean it.  Really easy.  TEN, though.  Only ten.  Eleven, twelve, twenty… that’s a whole different story.  I can lose 10 pounds pretty quickly, but getting down by 11 is a whole new battle. 

So now, the war’s officially begun.

I want to trim myself up and carve out this extra weight.  Goal weight is 135 – where I was 10 years ago.  58 pounds remaining.  Goal fitness level is to have strong enough abs and thigh muscles to support me when I ride.  Looking kind of forward to exploring Yoga and pilates sounds really intriguing, although difficult.

Chewbacca needs a new saddle, too.  And he has a harness and will begin to undertake driving training as soon as the weather clears.

So, the stones are laid.  I see the path.

At the end of the path, do I see myself riding my horse again?  Honestly…..??  After everything I’ve been through – all the fixes I thought I fixed and all the instruction I thought I was getting -…… no.  No. I do not see myself riding again at all. 

But I can still get fit, lose weight and add driving to Chewbacca’s repetoir.  He might enjoy it.  I love driving Luke, Luke’s a ton of fun and a great show pony, too.  Will I enjoy driving Chewbacca?  Probably not, but I’ll consider doing it if I can get a cheap horse cart.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What a crappy day!

  1. yvette says:

    I have wandered over from the COTH thread. I wanted to encourage you in your determination to loose some weight and get fitter. Weight Watchers has helped me loose 25 pounds with more to go, and one thing they taught me that I want to pass on to you is don’t set your goal weight too soon. It is a sabotaging behavior.

    At first set some non-weight goals. Like, four times this week, walk for 10 minutes. Food journaling is also so helpful. Keep going, get stronger, take it easy on yourself.

    Your story has definitely touched something off in many, many riders on COTH. You are not alone.

Leave a Reply

