The Blizzard Strikes!

I do believe last year around this time , I was writing about the freak earthquake we experienced.  (Illinois’ first one, and my second one).  I also was writing about some idiot who brought a package into my local bank with a note tied to it that said it was a bomb.

Those were fun days.

So last night, everyone was in a tizzy all about the impending doom of the blizzard.  Well, folks – it hit.  It hit hard.

 

19 inches AFTER I shoveled about 6 away from my driveway.  I didn’t measure the untouched snow in my yard, but I’m saying it’s about 24-25″.

That wasn’t the worst part.  The 50 mile an hour winds we had last night (and of course the freezing temps) created snow drifts and white out conditions.

At 7am I grabbed my camera and my husband and we walked up the block.  Well… that is once we got out of our parking spot….

The cars are buried right up to their bumpers.  There was a 3 1/2 foot pile of snow behind them – in part from snow drifts and in part from the snow plow blocking us.

It was nice practice with snow photography.  I need a lot more practice with the snow.  I tried a few different settings to get the snow white, but alas, it is still gray.  I need to work on that more.  Of course, it’s not like the sun was out either.

But I used the flash and highlighted the falling snow.  I like the effect personally.  I’ll have to play with that more.  Above and below are views from the end  of my block.  This is a major street.

 

And there was a guy hiking up it.

And one brave car managing to make it through.

 

Really kind of cool to see  normally busy roads so completely deserted.  I guess it isn’t so cool if you were trying to navigate Lake Shore Drive in Chicago last night.  Apparently, once the snow hit, commuters leaving work Tuesday afternoon got stuck and stranded, and after 11 hours sitting in their cars stuck on Lake Shore Drive, they finally just abandoned their vehicles.

I’ve heard that Chicago is closed.  LSD is still closed, and I’ve heard the police in my locality are giving tickets out to anyone on the road because we’re not supposed to be driving anywhere.

SNOW DAY!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Blizzard Strikes!

  1. Gwen says:

    Wow, I do not envy you. That is a lot of snow. Its crazy the amounts of snow this winter has dropped over most of the country.

  2. Dom says:

    That is a LOT of snow. Wow. We have about that much, but it’s from multiple storms!

Leave a Reply

