Chewbacca and the Lead Change

I decided I really wasn’t enjoying the appearance of the blog, so I’ve changed the look.  I’m happier with it now.

For our lesson the other day, we did a flat ride and worked on flying lead changes.  Happily, after several tries, I was able to get him to swap his leads from right to left twice.  Unfortunately, after many many tries until he was so tired we just had to stop, I was unable to get him to swap left-to-right. 

I know Chewie’s right side is his harder side to flex anyway, and while he will get very nice right lead walk-canter departs, he just could not swap that lead.  Of course my riding, I’m sure had something to do with it.   But we did plenty of walk-canter departs while staying round.  It was a good ride all in all, and I was very happy to finally be dabbling into lead changes.

It will come with time.  Everything else has improved over the last (almost) 6 months.  I’m sure this will too.

In other news, I am still having issues with my book/synopsis/query letter.

I am currently working on editing my first draft of my book.  It started out at 139,000 words.  When I printed out I noticed grammar/spelling errors that needed to be fixed and plenty of sentences that needed to be changes.  I did those fixes. 

Then, after more and more and more research, I found that a novel of this type for a first time author should be between 80,000-100,000 words.  So, that meant I needed to do a lot of editing.  It’s coming along.  I’ve got it down to 120,000 words. I’m on the last chapter of editing the first draft.  I should remove a few hundred more words.  I have a plan in mind for the first 4-5 chapters and that will reduce the word count by a good 15,000-20,000 words, so I’ll hit the mark, and still have what I hope to be a sensible story that makes sense.

In the mean time, I’m trying to work on the query letter.  I thought I had it to where I wanted it and I was happy.  Then I let someone with writing/editing experience read it, and she suggested massive changes.  Not just to the letter, but to my writing style. 

So now I feel completely insufficient with the whole project.  I’ve hit a pitfall, and it is not necessarily with the story I’ve written.  It is with how I’ve written it.  I like to write, and I would like to tell this story and see it published, but alas, I now realize how lack-luster, dry, and poorly written my story is.

I don’t think I’m being too critical either, I just think I’m being realistic.  I need to finish making my edits, and probably later this week I’ll start sending out queries.  While I expect 100% form rejection letters (as in unpersonalized rejections), I do hope that maybe by taking a writing class soon, I’ll be able to revise successfully.

We’ll see.  Wish me luck!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in horse, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chewbacca and the Lead Change

  1. Lana Hambley says:

    Hi Amanda,

    Go around a set of barrels, and Chewy will swap leads automatically! LOL Glad things are going well! I miss him, but enjoy reading how much fun you are having with him. I know he is being very well taken care of.

    Lana

  2. Dom says:

    Oz is the same way. Right to left is super easy. Left to right? Ha!

  3. kshai1715 says:

    LOL, every horse is one-sided, I think. Plus Chewie is learning all new cues for old tricks. He’ll get it.

Leave a Reply

