Improved Chewbacca

Ok, so I guess there was some huge football game yesterday here around Chicago but it wasn’t the super bowl.  I thought it was, because everyone was ranting about this game.  It was madness I tell ya!!!   Something about the Bears and the Green Bay Packers and I cannot believe how all the radio/news stations were talking about this game.  Grocery stores were having football sales, and even the bank tellers were wearing team vests!  Wow.

Honestly, Ii thought  it was the Super Bowl.  My husband and I do not give a hoot about football at all. 

 I do not get that game.  I don’t understand it.  Heck, I can’t even play football video games.    I just cannot believe how revved up people get about this sport!!!  They had some guy on TV who has every single Bears player’s name TATOOED on his body. 

WTF is wrong with you people???   It’s a friggin sport.  A game.  I love McLain Ward, but that doesn’t mean I want his name tatooed across my body.   Good gawd.

Anyway….

The other day whilst out and about, I came across something that really caught my attention ………..

I LOVE my current vehicle.  I have a Jeep that I’ve owned for 7 years now.  When I bought it, it had right around 70,000 miles on it.  It now has 192,000 and is still going strong and I love it to pieces. 

I actually cannot imagine not having my Jeep anymore.  I’m used to it, and I love it.  It’s been a very very reliable vehicle and has driven up and down the east coast and halfway across the country, too.  I do a lot of driving 🙂  At least I used to.  I still put about 300 miles a week on it just going back and forth to the barns and other errands.  I am planning come hell or high water to see the Kentucky Derby live this year from Churchill Downs, so my Jeep will be facing a good 10 hour drive to Louiseville with a side detour to Lexington, too.  It can do it.  I know it can.

But out of the corner of my eye while driving past this car sales lot I saw this GORGEOUS Nissan Xterra sitting right in the front row.  It was perfectly flashy and I loved the color the second I saw it.  For a few moments, I was thinking about the possibility of buying it.   So, out of curiosities sake I pulled into the dealership and looked at it.

It’s a 2003 and that’s kind of nice.  My Jeep is a 98, so it’s up there in years and miles.  I love the color.  Love love love the color 🙂    They wanted $7000 for it, which doesn’t seem too bad (a little high) but  the interior and exterior were in perfect condition.  This truck has been loved.

Down side???

It’s got 166,000 miles on it!!!!

LOL.  That’s about 100,000 more than I’d expect on an 8 year old car and it seems rather pointless to replace a high mileage vehicle that I know and love with another high mileage vehicle that for all I know could blow up on me the next day.

Still, it’s a beautiful truck.

ho hum.

OK, back to horses now:

I have been working on some video of Chewbacca.

This is one with some clips of hacking from a couple different days.  It’s not really the best, and yes, the camera is crooked for part of it.  LOL.  I had it lop sided on the railing without even realizing it.  You can see how framed he is getting and staying, though.  At the start, I was riding hands-free, and he was doing OK with it.

But, after our lesson last weekend that included jumping that wasn’t, I was a little edgy about trying to jump Chewie for this week’s lesson.  I have confidence issues that I will never get over, and I’ve learned to accept that.  But, in response to my confidence issues, I try to make every single ride productive and if there’s moments where I start having issues, I tend to want to regress back to total basics and get nervous about continuing forward.

Once we started jumping for our lesson yesterday, I felt a little like Chewie wanted to veer out away from the jump every time.  My trainer assured me that was all in my imagination, and while I did need to use more leg to press him over the jump instead of letting him flop forward, he was not acting in anyway as though he was going to do anything undesirable.

So, we pressed on, THANKFULLY, introducing the outside lines by trotting in and cantering out, and then we put it all back together at the canter.  My instructor told me to canter the lines now and press him up for the 4 stride.  I looked at her like she was crazy.  I was just glad to be getting the jumps, and now she wanted me to press him forward?  LOL.  I was really hesitant to do it, but once I cantered him to that first jump, I squeezed him with my leg and bam!  He did the 4 strides every time without any issues.  It was great.  See for yourself.

It was a very good ride that thankfully my husband recorded for me, so I got some better footage of us jumping.  Obviously, we screwed up a few times, had the wrong lead between the lines, and I did several “re-organizing circles” but ultimately, there were no issues and it was a very very good ride.

After the ride, boy was Chewbacca sweaty and huffing and puffing.  Then again, so was I.  So, I took off his saddle, threw on his green monster cooler and got the hubster to snap a few pictures:

And in other news…

Dixie’s muzzle is staying on, so that’s good.  It’s only been a week, so she’s not looking like she’s losing weight, but I’m sure she will start after another 2 weeks or so.  Notice all the hay in the background?  There’s usually 3 piles like in her pasture, which is probably a 1-2 acre sized field.  That’s why she’s got the muzzle on.  LOL.  Right now it’s too bitter cold to work the horses at all.  It’s supposed to warm up to 30 this week, so I’m hoping to actually start both Luke and Dixie back to ground driving in preparation for spring and driving.  (yes, I’m thinking spring already)

Look at that tub-O-matic.  LOL.

Here  is Luke downing a steamy hot bran mash while my husband supervises:

It was way too cold to do anything out of doors all week.  Temperatures hit -4 and the windchill on Thursday night had dropped to -24.  Brutal!!!

February is the worst month, I think, and that hasn’t even arrived yet.  UGH!

OH, and in more news…. I have got my first draft of my book GRAND PRIX DREAMS about halfway edited, and I am planning on querying literary agents after I do a little more research this week.  I think by mid-week upcoming, I should be ready to send out my first letters to agents and pray for positive results.

And, my fish says hi!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Improved Chewbacca

  1. Dom says:

    Chewie looks great 🙂

    And I totally don’t care about football. At all. I’ll watch the commercials on youtube the next day.

Leave a Reply

