Chewbacca and the refusal

I have a theory with my riding.  My theory changes from horse to horse, because if I’m driving, than my theory is going to be different than if I am riding dressage, hunter, or just taking a trail ride.

In Chewbacca’s case, my theory is that he should learn that no matter what — I don’t care how screwed up things get… NO MATTER WHAT, he should go over or through the fence before him.  A horse isn’t a machine you can program, but to some degree, you can teach them their job so well that they will do it in lieu of a rider.  (See YouTube for a cutting horse cutting with no rider, or a pole horse doing his pattern riderless.  It’s awesome).

Obviously, I want to stay on Chewie, and so far I’ve been able to do that…. but, my theory failed in our lesson yesterday for sure.  LOL.  Watch the antics ensue..

Here were are warming up a little and some jumping.  You can see he is getting more consistently round and moving in a frame.  He takes a while to warm up to it, but he’s worked for a bit, he holds his frame well.  He looks gorgeous.  I think he wants to be a dressage horse.  🙂  LOL.

I know you want my helmet, but you can’t have it 🙂 LOL.  Green bubble helmet is awesome.  That’s my new helmet I bought a few weeks ago with a totally cool cover over it that hubby got me for Christmas!  And green gloves, green saddle pad, green polos… I’m saving up to buy him a green brow band for his bridle 🙂  Green everywhere.  He’s the green Chewie.

And here we are jumping a bending line to the rainbow oxer.  We love rainbow oxer.  So far, so good…

Now we throw in the other outiside line… and, Chewbacca decides on his own version of jumping, which does not include jumping…

Here is where my theory failed.  The first time we came through this line we did it a little sloppy.  I was trying to push him to do it in 4, but I screwed it up and he ended up with 4 big open strides and a 5th teeny tiny little stride in front of the fence, which caused him to jump and land very awkwardly and I no doubt yanked on the bit for an uncomfortable second, too.  So since the first time through was a mess, Mr. C decided he just wasn’t going to bother the second time, even though we had the striding right for 5. Bummer.

Then it all went down from there…..

again…

and…again..

Ok, now I’m getting a little rattled.  Three refusals.  Thankfully, my instructor took the fence down in height and I trotted Chewie over it.  Not pretty that first time, but we go the kinks sort of worked out.  At least we got through the line.

And finally, we put it all back together..

I had left the camera on a banister in the arena and recorded my ride.  I’m glad I did.  It’s only the 2nd time Chewie’s ever refused to jump, and in a way, I’m glad I got it on camera.  Bummer that I didn’t have anyone to zoom the camera for me or follow our ride, but I may just record my rides every week this way.

And, after Chewie’s very hard ride where he got very sweaty, nothing feels better than a good roll…  Technically, a horse should never be loose in the barn, because the arena is not enclosed.  But when there’s no one around, I let Chewie loose so he can go roll.  It’s the highlight of his ride 🙂  He knows to go roll, and come right back to me (or his stall).

Awwww… what a good baby..  🙂  I love him… 🙂

Oh, in other news… Dixie is on a diet… here’s how that’s going:

 

HAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA……

 

Awwww…poor Dixie… LOL.

 

Take a visit to my photography blog for yet more pictures of Luke, Dixie, and Chewie.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Dressage, horse, hunter/jumper, miniature horse, Photography, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chewbacca and the refusal

  1. Dom says:

    Because we often jump solid things and Ozzy is clumsy, I don’t like the ‘through the fence’ approach. Instead, I’ve taught him that the only correct way to refuse is to just slow down and come to a soft stop at the fence. He used to have this dirty slide to a stop, throw it in reverse, and spin trick that had me on my butt time and again. Obviously, I prefer no refusal, but I’ll take a nice one over a nasty one any day. I know what you mean about adjusting your theory to the horse you’re riding.

Leave a Reply

