Riding & Writing

Wow was my whole body sore for about 2 days after my lesson with Chewbacca!!  Pushing him forward and getting 4 strides was just more work than we normally do, so I think I used muscles I don’t normally use!  I can’t help but wonder if  he was sore at all either, but he seemed just fine when I went out to ride last night.  He was a little flippy with his head more than normal, and for a few seconds he made that weird breathing sound, this time accompanied by a whistling noise.  I walked him and it lasted maybe 20 seconds and stopped and he was fine.

I think I have an idea what’s causing the sound.  It’s just odd that he hasn’t made that noise in several weeks, and he did it for just a few seconds while trotting and then was fine.  It’s a really disturbing sound, like he literally can’t breathe.  I would have the vet out, but it’s so unpredictable, I think I’ll hope to get him recorded while he’s doing it.  Then again, it may not happen again.  I’m going to run through a few causes.  Since we’ve adjusted the bit, I can’t imagine it is him sucking back on his tongue.  I usually give him treats before his ride to do carrot stretches.  It’s possible that the cookie I give him could be choking him.  It is weird to have that happen 15-20 minutes after he’s had it (and it’s only a tiny bite, not a whole treat).  But all the same, I’m going to not give him the treats for the next few rides and see what happens.  Otherwise, the only other option is that he suffers from partial paralysis of the laryngeal flaps.  In other words, he could be an intermittent roarer.  The sound is more like choke than roaring, but the whistling noise he made is definitely a bullseye sign of roaring.

Dixie the mini has an intermittent paralysis of her laryngeal flaps, and a malformed trachea.  When she works, she makes the most horrendous sounds and she always has and always will.  She’s been scoped twice.  One time they found the paralysis, the other time, they didn’t – thus the intermittent.  It’s possible Chewie does the same thing.  Weeks apart would be VERY intermittent.  It could be the treat issue, but I can’t ignore the whistling noise either.

Other than that, he was great.  I’m noticing a relation between him being moody with his head and the appearance of the sound.  He did start out with shaking his head a little more than normal.  So I’ll keep an eye on that.  It was a good ride otherwise, we just worked on some basics.  Forward and round.  Seems to be the only thing we do!  I wanted to try working on flying lead changes, but I’ll do that in another ride.

 

In other news, my novel Grand Prix Dreams is totally finished.  I’ve proof read it so many times that I’m sick of reading it.  I cannot possibly change anything else about it.  It’s amateurish and probably too stupid for anyone to want to read, and I spend a good long while working on a query letter to literary agents after doing a ton of research on it, only to start having major self doubts.  I think I may put this project on hold just the same as I did with my horse-buying guide.

I really want to take a college class on writing at the local community college, but right now I cannot afford the cost.  I can barely pay for Chewbacca to stay where he’s at, and I think my trainer got more than a little peeved when I told her I won’t be able to board there in February.  She told me I need to give a 30 day notice, and I told her I’m still not sure, although I’m trying my best to stay.  It’s just been a little tough this month with my husband not working while he recovers from his 4th sinus surgery since June, 2009.

I would also like to purchase and read a few a horse books.  I found one, called The Perfect Distance, that in some ways sounded very similar to the book I have written.  While much of the first 13 chapters or so in my novel are based on true-life experiences, if the two stories are terribly similar, why would there be a need for redundant story?  How popular are horse books anyway?  As much as I like to write, I am NOT a reader.  I read slowly, and I generally don’t like to sit around for hours scanning over pages of a book.  I’ve only read a few books, really, and I think the most recent one I read was the last Harry Potter book and that came out, what?  5 years ago?  LOL.

It occurred to me that maybe I should actually read some horse books, so I think I’ll spend some time shopping Amazon this week.  These books are literally $3 and $5.  Which also raises doubts that  a book I write could possibly be worth anything.

Ironic, in my book, my main character is riddled with self-doubt and unsupportive people around her.  She fights against that and chases her dreams anyway.  She does the one thing I’ve never been able to do in my life….. show self confidence and fight for it.  I know my faults, and while I have many, amongst them is a total lack of confidence.  I don’t even have confidence in my riding abilities anymore, which used to be the one thing I never doubted – but that was back when I had Lickety, and Zoltan, and was jumping 3’6″ and 4’3″.  That was when I thought I could make it anywhere, do anything, and succeed.  Now I don’t even have confidence that I’ll be able to get Chewbacca jumping around a 2’3″ course with lead changes, or heck, I’m not even confident I can pay his board bill next month!!!

There’s this Star Trek Next Gen episode that I really love and I think it is so pertinent to life – at least to my life.  It’s about Captain Picard, who gets a chance to go back and fix his biggest regret in his life.  He gets sent back to his Starfleet Academy days, and plays it safe instead of taking a great risk and his reward when he fast forwards to present day, is that he’s not a captain.  He’s an unnoticed lower rank officer that has never stood out or done anything worthy of promotion.  He didn’t take a risk, so he committed himself to a life of mundane existence.  Needless to say, in the end, he gets to back to that one moment in time that changed it all, and take his risk once again.

I relate to that episode very much, because I didn’t take the risks I wanted to take, and I regret it.

If you could take a risk, and know you may fail terribly or succeed brilliantly, would you do it?  What if that risk was unsupported by the people you looked to most for support?  What if that risk involved expense or travel that you doubted you could handle?  Would you try?   Or would you take the safer option because it’s the route everyone tells you should take?

 

 

Something to think about.

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse, Quarter Horse, Riding, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Riding & Writing

  1. Tracie Noel says:

    Okay, now I want to read BOTH books (yours, and The Perfect Distance) because unlike you, I’m a HUGE reader. Especially of horse books! 🙂 I have a big collection started in childhood, and if there was a fire, believe me, I’d be trying to make my way to the basement to rescue them.

    I am also a huge Next Gen fan and I wish I could remember that episode. It sounds great! Jean Luc is my favorite character – I just took my Picard Hallmark ornament off the tree, in fact. I got to see Patrick Stewart in person one time (he was doing his one-man production of “A Christmas Carol” in NYC) and that was a thrill. Whatta guy…

    I’m not sure what I would change, if I could go back. I’m not a big risk-taker myself, but I married one. He lives on the edge quite enough for both of us, thank you!

    I know you are sorry you didn’t pursue your own dream of becoming a Grand Prix jumper rider. But you are still involved in the horse world and have your own horses – PLURAL – which is way ahead of a lot of us (like me, who’s never owned her own horse at all), so I think you should be proud of that. And you’re a terrific horsey mom, still having fun and learning. All positives! 🙂

  2. A fantastic site for new horse books….www.greathorsebooks.com

    Check it out!

Leave a Reply

