New Year Changes!!!

Well, this is my last post.  Last post of 2010, that is.  I’m sure I’ll have nothing more to say until next year.

I had to change the name of my blog, because 2010 Ramblings just wasn’t going to cut it.  I’ve also made a few other changes as you can probably see.  My apologies if you’re eyes are hurting, but bright green is Chewie’s theme color!!!

2010 was a good and bad year and I am glad to see it gone although a little sad that it’s over, but I also can’t wait to see what 2011 has in store.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed for all good things, but so far it hasn’t panned out that way and the new year hasn’t even started yet!!!  Rent has gone up, Chewbacca’s board has gone up (awesome… like it wasn’t expensive enough).. and I think Luke & Dixie’s board is due to increase, too.  Great way to ring in 2011- here’s your bills – more expensive now!  AHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

LOL.  It’s OK, we’ll make it through.

My husband had his surgery today, it took about an hour and he’s home now and resting.  I’ve got a picture of him I took with my phone, I’ll get it posted when I get a chance.  It was raining on and off all day and it’s almost 50 degrees out.  I’d love to go out to the barn to play with Luke and Dixie, but I’ve got to go shopping, get meds for my husband, and after being at the hospital for 6 hours today I’m pretty wiped, so I guess I’ll just go tomorrow.

I have a few new year’s resolutions, and I hope I can keep them.  I had only managed to make about half of my 2010 resolutions happen.

For 2011:

I’d like to show Chewbacca at least once

I’d like to take a Photography course at the community college

I’d like to take a Photoshop course at the community college

I’d like to take a writing course at the community college

(never thought I’d want to do so much back at college! lol)

I am going to try to get Grand Prix Dreams published

I will do more practice photography

I will try to purchase that new lens I’ve been wanting to get (which is about the same cost as Chewie’s monthly board now… hmmmm…)

I’d like to start saving away for a rainy day.

I’d like to learn how to invest in stocks.

I would finally like to see the Kentucky Derby from the Grandstand at Churchill Downs like I’ve been saying every -single- year since Fusiachi Pegasus ran!!!!!

And while I’m in Kentucky, I’d also like to revisit the Kentucky Horse Park, which I haven’t been to since 2002.

If I think of any more, I’ll add them to the list, but I think that just about covers it for 2011. I’m not even going to resolve to lose weight or give up microwave popcorn, because those things are just unobtainable !!! 🙂

Speaking of losing weight, though – I did do a pregnancy check on Dixie just to make sure the mini gelding she’s with is actually a gelding, and the test was… negative.  Thank god!!!  So she’s just fat from too much hay consumption.  I don’t have the time to work with her as often as I need to to keep her slim, and with the winter, there’s really  not much I can do, so I’ve bought a muzzle for her and I’m waiting to get it.  If I muzzle her for the next 3-4 months, she should lose some weight.  I’m hoping I can keep the muzzle on.  I’m betting she’ll come up with a hundred ways to rip it off her face.

Nothing to report on with Luke.  He got his feet trimmed the other night and his thrush is cleared up.  Of course, now it’s raining like crazy, so I expect it to start back up with the mud.

Chewbacca had an interesting lesson last night.  When I asked him to canter, he started making a very strange noise.  It was like he was choking, but he was not coughing or producing foam like you’d expect a choking horse to do.  He only started it when I asked for the canter.  I walked him a bit while both trainers looked on.  When he seemed OK, we tried again and again with the noise.  It was like he was having severe trouble breathing.  I loosened the girth a hole just in case that was causing some problem, even though it was where I always keep it.  Off again at the canter and he made the sound once more.  My trainer then thought maybe the bit was too loose in his mouth and adjusted the bridle to make it a little tighter.  She said it’s possible the bit was hitting his teeth and it was uncomfortable for him, or the other possibility was that if the bit was hanging too far down on his tongue, he was managing to get his tongue over the bit or sucking back on his tongue.

I’ve never heard a sound like that before, and I’ve never had an issue with a horse getting their tongue over the bit, or sucking back on their tongue.  Whatever the case, after she adjusted the bridle and pulled the bit up a couple of holes, he cantered around just fine without any weird noises.  We opted not to jump him of course, but we worked on walk-canter and trot-canter transitions, which by the end of a super flat lesson were killer!!  So we ended on a great note and without weird noises.

I have a lesson Sunday on him, I’m a little reluctant to work him hard, but we’ll see what happens.  I’m honestly not intentionally trying to strangle my horse with his own tongue!  Honest!  Maybe I’ll start riding him in a hackamore! LOL 🙂

Actually, that’s not a half bad idea…..  hmmm…..

Well, enjoy the New Year!!!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse, hunter/jumper, miniature horse, Photography, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Year Changes!!!

  1. Dom says:

    Sounds like a great list of goals 🙂 And here’s wishing your husband a speedy recovery.

Leave a Reply

