Book 1 done, book 2 almost there!

Firstly, I’d like to say this is way too cold.  I’m ready for spring.  Or maybe a move to Virginia.  (In my fantasy fairy land where I have all the money in the world, I own a farm in Southwest Virginia and have my own indoor arena. LOL.)… Still wintery, but no where near the likes of Chicago. 

Secondly, my horse is awesome.  He’s just awesome 🙂 I love him so much 🙂  The bell boots aren’t working out, I’m sorry to say.  Wrong shade of green anyway, but they’re too big for him, the move around, and they interfere with how he moves. I  thought he was lame the other day, and then I took the bell boots off and it was like magic.  He was tripping over them and they were really a nuisance.  So they’re gone now.  But otherwise, he’s doing great.  I skipped a ride the other day, but hacked yesterday to make up for it and we’ve got a lesson on Saturday.  I am hoping to keep him going right along at my trainers in January, too, but I may move him home in February just to give myself a break from a $600 board bill every month.  LOL.  I’m also thinking about (vaguely) maybe taking him to an indoor show over the winter to do some flat classes.  I think he’s ready for that, but I’m not sure I’m ready to be bothered hauling out in the dead of winter.  Those indoor shows won’t start until January.  Granted the places they are held at are exquisite barns, but still.. the trip there is a cold and snowy one.  So we’ll see on that.  I’ve never shown in the winter. Ever. With good reason.  LOL. I’m a wuss 🙂

Thirdly, I have actually finally finished my “Novice’s Guide to Purchasing a Horse.”  I say this, and then every time I open the file, I find something to change or add.  All it needs right now is a few pictures, and cover artwork and it’s done.  Really done.I think.  I would like to get it proofread, too by a few people, but I have to get it printed first in order to have that done.

It’s  136 pages  14″ x 11″ and in full color it would be about $50 to print and about $20 in black and white.  Not too bad at all, and I’ll probably look to do 2-4 copies, maybe 1 or 2 in color and the others black and white.  I’ll also need copies of  a sample chapter to submit to a publisher.  I think I’ve got my proposal letter all finalized, so I guess I’m ready to try to submit for publication.  We’ll see if I ever take that step or not.

My other book, Boook #2, also a horse book, but a fiction one, is coming along very quickly and very well. I think I started writing last year sometime, and for me, to have a book finished in 14-16 months is flying.  It took me 7 years to get around to finishing my Buyer’s Guide.  I’ m not 100% sure yet about if my Buyer’s Guide is even really worth publishing, so I’m a bit on the fence about that one… on top of the fact the whole thing to do with publishing is confusing as could be, so it’s just making the whole idea even worse…

But, the other book, the fiction one, I think has a bit wider of an audience range.  I’m not sure if it would be considered a young adult book or not, although I would assume so, since the character in it is just graduating high school.  I think that qualifies as young adult…. 

For the fiction book, like I said, it probably has a much wider audience range, and possibly a better chance of being published.  I doubt either book I’ve written would be great sellers, but I’ve written them, so I figure I should try.  I do think my fiction one would sell better, at least I hope it would.  And if everyone has just 1 story to tell in their life, this is mine. 

I’m not sure what the heck I’m going to do when I get it done – I’m about 2 chapters away from being done with the first draft of it.  Then I go back and edit, add and remove sentences, whole paragraphs, or whatever I don’t like.  Then it’s done.  After about 3-4 re-reads.  I get so sick of reading my own books, LOL!  Over and over and over and over again I read and read and re-read them.  It drives me crazy sometimes.

But it’s nearly complete.  I’m very happy with it, too, so we’ll see.  I am still looking for advice, input, and suggestions about writing/publishing and anyting else to do with these books, so please feel free to contact me on that.  I’ve received some helpful insights from one publisher already, who feels I should self- publish.  I definitely do not think that is the route I want to go.

I was asked if I would be happy just getting a $5,000 check and being sent on my way while the publisher makes the rest of the money…. ummm???  really…?? If someone wanted to hand me a $5,000 check for work of mine, I’d be thrilled and take the money and run.  LOL. 

Well, anyway, have a good day.  Only 15 days to Christmas.  Are you ready?????  God knows I’m not.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book 1 done, book 2 almost there!

  1. Dom says:

    That is so exciting about the book!!! I wanna seeeeeeeeeeee!

Leave a Reply

