Fun times just keep getting funner!!

Is funner really a word?  Anyway, it doesn’t matter.  I am just so thrilled to have Chewbacca!  He has been nothing but enjoyable, honest, and fun since I’ve gotten him.  Fun, fun, fun!  He has taken to everything I’ve put him up to with true style and a keen interest in learning.  I truly believe that he enjoys what he’s doing, which just makes it all the more fun.

The other day, a girl was jumping her horse, which happens to be Chewie’s neighbor.  They were working through a gymnastic that consisted of 4 verticals.  Of course, they were 3′ and 4′ high, but I commented that I LOVE gymastics.  I think there’s a jumper rider in me, because two things I’ve always loved doing are rollbacks and gymnastics.

Both of those things are great for the horse, too.  Rollbacks teach the horse to collect, turn, bend, rock back and jump up, all at once.  There’s no way to do a rollback if you’re strung out.. at least not properly.   Gymnastics are just fun, fun, fun!  I love them.  However many jumps, however high, I just love gymnastics, and they are so ever ever ever useful for teaching horses all kinds of things – collection, rocking back, jumping up, moving forward, you name it.  Gymnastics are great even for dressage horses and western horses too (obviously without the jumps – just poles).

Anyway, point is, today Chewbacca met the gymnastic line.  The other day I was schooling and the arena was like a ghost town – there was no one around at all, and since no one was riding, I dropped all the rails to the ground and worked over poles… and I did rollbacks, lol!  Today, during our lesson, Chewbacca was put to a challenge.

He started out trotting a crossrail.  Then, a small vertical was added just after the crossrail to form a bounce.  A no-stride jump combination.  (I love no strides, too).  Then, the vertical was made a bit higher, so it went from about 10″ to about 18″.  Then, a final vertical was added 1 stride out, and that was eventually set to about 2 feet.  He did GREAT.  I think he likes gymnastics as much as I do!!  He perked up, jumped round and flawless and navigated his way through the triple combination like an old pro.  It was fun and he did exemplary!

We also worked on a regular line, and had some trouble.  We managed to get our 5 strides every time, but the finer details of being straight and hitting the strides were a little tougher.  We’d come in like a heap, but get out like a made hunter, and then we’d switch.  We managed to get the first vertical correctly and ended up in a heap landing off the second one.  LOL.  Oh well, these are the things time and training take care of.

 

So, after our lesson, I headed outside, recruited someone to help me, and got a few pictures taken of Chewie and me!  It was a beautiful day, about 40 and sunny.  What a nice day for a great ride!!!

 

Here he is sporting his total green package, lol!!  I did this one by myself, so I had a hard time taking the picture from the end of the reins, but you get the idea..

He’s got green bell boots now, super cool lime green splint boots which totally match his polo wraps on the back legs, and his super-cooshy soft ultra-fleece padded girth – no girth rub here!  Along with his neon green saddle pad.  We’re the brightest bunch at the barn!

I can’t wait to get his new brow band.  Totally can’t wait to add that to the look.  But it’s $90, so it will have to wait.  But this is what it looks like:

Beautiful, isn’t it?!  I think I’ll get one in orange for Luke next year, if he ever shows again, it will look real nice.

Hey, speaking of Luke, I’ve also found a cart I’d like to get for him, it’s wood and fancy but it’s lighter overall than the meadowbrook he drives now, so it should make it easier for him to drive.  I’d like to get it, but it needs new paint and currently the people want $1400 for it.  I figure I’ll wait a few months and when they realize it’s not worth that much, then I can get it for maybe $800, a much better price…

It’s perfect really, and Luke and my husband will look fantastic in it.  The people gave me the measurements and it definitely would fit Luke just fine.    It’s like a meadowbrook, but I’d call this more of a show cart or road cart.  It doesn’t have the bulk to it that the meadowbrook has, and therefore, isn’t as heavy.

Just for comparison sake’s here’s an image of Luke and my husband showing earlier this year..

The meadowbrook has a bulkier look to it, but is still of course a beautiful cart and Luke pulls it with no problem.  Don’t they look fantastic?!  I really wish my husband would have done more showing with him this year, but that’s another blog all together.. LOL.

 

Anyway,  won’t Luke’s driving bridle look lovely with that same brow band only in orange?  🙂

 

Here’s another pair of horse and rider I’m rather proud of if I say so myself:

 

Have a wonderful day!

 

 

 

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, hunter/jumper, Jumpers, Photography, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fun times just keep getting funner!!

  1. Jessica says:

    OMG i love the picture of you and chewie! you two look GREAT together!

Leave a Reply

