Yeow is it cold!!!

Brrrrr !!!!  It is windy and brutal out there today on this black, black friday!  Monday it was 60 and we were all loving every second of it (except probably Luke who was outside in his medium weight blanket all day).  By Tuesday morning it was 27 and windy.  Amazing how only in Chicago-land can the temperature drop by 40 degrees overnight.

It’s been pretty much that cold all week and today the wind is just really killer.  Chewbacca is nice and toasty warm in is cozy stall with his Weatherbeeta blankey on.  Today his new girth and new exercise boots arrived.  I can’t wait to get them all on him.  The other day his new lime green bell boots arrived, and tonight when I got to the barn (which was totally empty), I rode and tried on the bell boots.  The velcro came undone during our ride.  Thankfully he didn’t trip, but I don’t think my awesome new bell boots are going to work if they come undone halfway through a ride… But they’re super bright green and I really like them 🙂 🙂  I’ll try to pull them tighter next time I ride so hopefully that won’t happen again.  I just hacked today and did some work over ground poles.  He did great!  Sunday we’ve got a lesson and Tuesday, I am going to have my trainer ride him because I just simply think she should.   He is doing so very well there and we’re coming along great, and I am very very glad to get to spend another month boarding there.

Luke is having troubles still with thrush.  I’ve been treating his feet every day with peroxide and still I find new areas where thrush develops.  Today he started to bleed from 2 feet.  It’s not really that wet out there, but it is wet enough to be causing problems.  This is a pain in the butt doing this every single day and I’m debating about upgrading him to stall board to help… but it seems pointless because in the spring when it’s muddy again, this will happen again anyway.  Otherwise, he’s doing great and just enjoying his winter break.  I’ve got a few pictures of him the other day but I really need to take more and practice my photography.

I have not done one single photography thing this whole month, and now November’s nearly over!  I’ve been busy with Luke, and Chewbacca, and writing my books and working and I just haven’t had time to commit to doing any photography.  I really really need to find time to take a class or something.

Anyway, I am worried very much about Luke’s feet.  I realize thrush isn’t the end of the world, but what’s bothering me is that I am treating and treating and treating and it won’t go away and the hoof pick makes him bleed.  I’m concerned that if I keep striking blood it’s going to lead to bigger problems, like abcesses, or infection inside the hoof.  I’m probably being paranoid, because it’s not like he has a gaping hole in his foot, it’s kind of like if your gums bleed when you brush your teeth, but still.  Luke is a prized pony that I love to pieces.  I wish my husband would do more with him (and show him) but right now he’s on “winter break” anyway and I just want him to get better.

I will definitely have to get a picture of Chewbacca in his green.  I’ve been on the search now for lime green standing wraps, too.  I also need to buy new quilt wraps because mine are all torn up.  I like to keep Chewie’s legs wrapped when he’s stalled, to try to help that left hind stay down. It stocks up all the time when he’s stalled.

I am running out of lime green things to buy him – he’s got a bucket, 2 halters, 2 leads, 2 saddle pads, polos, bell boots, splint boots… hmmm.. I guess I can get him a tail bag(not that I’ll ever use it).  So other than lime green standing wraps and maybe colored quilt wraps, the only thing I can think that’s left to buy him would be a bling brow band in green.  I went virtual shopping on eBay today for ideas and found a brow band that is utterly gorgeous.  It’s so beautiful and it’s about the same price as one of those crystal studded brow bands.  It’s hand made and just gorgeous.  It’s got 2 shades of green and gold overlay with little clear crystals all through it.  It is absolutely gorgeous and I definitely will be adding that to the list.

In fact, I might get one in orange pony size for Luke’s driving bridle, too.  I’ll have to see if I can change the brow band on that because of the blinders.

Anyway, until next time!

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, hunter/jumper, Photography, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

