Blankets and shopping and christmas!

Holy cow.  As I find myself doing most of my Christmas shopping on eBay, I am being reminded that there are only 39 days (as of today) until Christmas.  Are you ready?  I’m not.  LOL.  I’ve got a house to decorate, a whole list of stuff to get for my husband, and I can’t think of anything I want for myself.   Mostly I’m just not ready for the COLD… which means winter blankets on the horses!

I just blanketed Chewie for the first time when it turned really cold on Saturday.  Otherwise, since he’s been in a stall since the start of the cooler weather, I’ve been playing blanket roulette with Luke, and am leaving Dixie to shiver off some of her fat for the winter.  LOL.  Hey, she’s in a stall at night too now.  The only one getting screwed here is the super pookey pony.  Poor baby.

His thrush is coming along, but it’s a little like a losing battle.  The farrier took a peek at the worst spot where it’s very sore and bled it open again, so he was pouring blood again last night.  I’ve been treating him daily for a week, and it looks like I’ll need to keep up the every day treatments for probably 2-3 more weeks.  At least until it freezes up and the ground gets hard.

So anyway, I’ve been putting Luke’s lightweight sheet on, taking off when it got to be 70, putting his medium weight on and taking that off when it’s been too hot.  (Blanketing is a pain in the butt).

Now he’s back in his medium weight all nice and cozy.

Here he is on Saturday before I put his blankey back on.

He’s getting more than a little fuzzy.  In an effort to make sure he doesn’t turn into too much of a furball for next spring when I restart him to driving, I usually blanket him.  Of course, now I have my super cool body clippers that I bought at the horse fair this year, so I could just clip him in April.

 

Dixie of course, the fat little cow herself….

Huge, isn’t she?  I swear if I didn’t know any better I would say she’s pregnant.  But she’s been cycling through heats all summer right up until about 2 weeks ago. Now she squeals and kicks and tries to attack Luke if he gets too close.  She’s acting like a preg-o broodmare.  It’s a little scary.  She has *never* been in contact with a stallion, but she does live with a mini that should be a gelding.  As far as anyone knows, he’s not cryptorchid.  If she doesn’t lose weight this winter, I’ll be getting her ultrasounded just to be certain.  It’s possible her thyroid is on the fritz, too… she usually does not shed out in the summer and I have to clip her, but she’s never been this pregnant looking.    That’s the last (f*****) thing I need – a mini foal to pay board on!  LOL.  Can anyone say LUTALYSE !!!! ?!?!  (I’m mean.)

 

Anywho… so here is Chewbacca sporting his new Weatherbeeta medium weight turnout.  I wish Weatherbeeta made neon colors so he could be in lime green all winter.  His heavyweight is black and this one is black and gray.  Oh well.

Lap of luxury, right?  He’s all alone in an acre of grass and then gets a cozy warm stall.  I’m thinking I might do a little bit of a clip on him, if he stays for December at my trainer’s because he gets really sweaty.  I can’t clip him too much, because when he goes back out on pasture board with Luke, he’ll freeze!  I’ll have to keep 2 blankets on him if I did.  But right now, I spend about an hour cooling him off after he’s done jumping and working.  That blanket is a little big for him. It’s an 81″, I guess I should have gotten an 80 or even a 79″.  Hard to believe a horse as big as he is needs a smaller blanket.  I also just bought him a new padded girth, and that’s too small!! LOL!  I’ll get it right sometime.

 

OK… back to Christmas shopping…
Dear Santa………..

 

 

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, miniature horse, Photography, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blankets and shopping and christmas!

  1. Shannon says:

    Eep, I haven’t done any Christmas shopping yet!

    I recently purchased some No Thrush, http://www.nothrushshop.com/index.html, for my horses. It doesn’t kill healthy tissue like some of the other treatments do and it’s really easy to apply. I don’t work for them or anything, your post just made me think of it.

Leave a Reply

