What a fantastic day!

I hope you don’t mind, but I’m about to talk about Chewbacca like he’s the greatest horse ever.  If you don’t like how I get all gooey about Chewie…well, what are you doing reading along?  LOL.

I started the day off early today with the first lesson time of the morning.  Heck, I got to the barn before my instructor did!  Tacked up and warmed up and then so began the lesson.  Todays subjects:  bend, flex your poll, move forward and stay round.  He did decent, good, better, awesome in that order.  LOL.   So after some productive and seriously brilliant flat work, we turned up the jumping, working from 1 trotting rail to doing a simple lead change and cantering over a small vertical to another simple lead change and cantering down a 5 stride line.  Now, the most awesome part was that the line was supposed to be 5 strides.  Chewbacca is still learning how to jump and he’s only just been introduced to lines.  First few times around he went down the line like you’d expect a typical greenie to go.  Weaving, swaying, drunk.  But he went.  Knocked rails, but he still listened to my leg and went forward.  He was struggling to get the 5 strides, and the fact that he was swaying every which way didn’t really help.  So we tried moving him forward to do the line in 4, and BAM-O .  Straight, steady, nailed the line in 4 strides.  It was like a light went on and suddenly, he might as well have been a made hunter horse.  He did his course, simple changed through his lines and made a killer effort through the line.  Wooooo hoooo!!

After we were done, I rode him around bareback so he could cool off and he is getting better and better at steering fully off my leg.  A few more days I think and I’ll try some trotting on leg aids only.
Chewbacca is doing so wonderful, it’s almost sickening!  LOL!  He’s coming along so quickly, and he’s jumping eagerly and honestly and confidently.  Exactly how I hoped to start him into jumping.  He’s listening to my leg and sooner or later, he’ll start to come through with his head.  It’s only been 3 months and i cannot believe the progress we’ve made.  It’s so wonderful !!!   I’m thrilled and really hope this trend just keeps going and going.

 

Today was raining all morning so by the time I got to take care of Luke’s feet, it was too rainy to do anything else.  But my morning didn’t end there!  I came home to find the house clean, the spare room organized far better than I could have hoped, and a dozen white roses on the counter.  LOL!!!

It wasn’t like my husband was trying to make up for anything either, lol!  He just really pulled out all the stops and impressed me thoroughly.  I’ve been impressed by Chewie and my husband!  I feel pampered and incredibly lucky today!!

This weekend’s big plans are to work on my books and that’s about it.  Have a good one!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, hunter/jumper, Photography, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

