Horse Riding and Horse Racing…

Well, it’s been another busy week.  I am saddened to say we’ve gone ahead and turned the clocks back.  While that means I got an extra hour of sleep last night, it also means it will be dark at 5 this afternoon.  I hate when it’s dark so early in the afternoon and I hate the cold.  Fortunately, the weather says it is going to be about 65 most of this week, so that’s nice.  I’ll have to take Luke’s blanket off.

I’ve been working on my 2 book projects, which is eating up so much of my time right now, but I really want to get them done and start trying to see about publishing.  Yesterday I did a ton of errands and just went to the 2 barns and visited the horses.  Chewbacca has doing brilliantly at my trainer’s.  Absolutely brilliant.  I took a lesson with him the other day and have another one in a few hours.  He’s cantering 2 fences now, and warming up by trotting a crossrail to start.  He’s learning quickly and is doing very very well.  I could not possibly be more proud.  We are not rushing him and are trying to pay careful attention to make sure he learns confidently before he is asked to do more.  He is learning how to find a stride now before the fence, and is beginning to understand the concept of switching leads when we change directions.   I meant to drive both Luke and Dixie yesterday, but I ended up being so busy that I just stopped to see them instead.  I will try to drive them today, but I was hoping I could get my husband out to help me with them, so I don’t have to drive both and be out twice as long, because I really want to get back to my book work.  So they may not got driven today again…..

Bummer.

 

Another big bummer was Zenyatta yesterday.  I love horse racing.  I watch channel 602 on my satellite whenever I can in the evenings.  It’s non-stop horse racing from all over the country.  There’s a OTB place about 5 minutes from the barn, and from time to time I’ll go place a little wager.  I bet $2 on Zenyatta to win, lol.  If she did win, I would have won my whole $2 back.  LOL.  Not exactly hoping to make millions here with my gambling addiction 🙂  I’m just addicted to watching the horses run.  I love going to the track here and taking pictures.  I try to go once a year.  I used to be HUGE into Thoroughbreds.  I used to know what horses were running and when and what their stats all were and used to follow it like I was actually involved.  I’ve always thought about owning a racehorse.  From time to time I come across partnership ads, and sometimes I think about buying 10% of a racehorse.  Maybe I will someday.

Anyway, so I watched the Breeder’s Cup races all afternoon.  Goldikova, another mare, had about the most amazing surge of power around the final turn I’ve ever seen.  It was brilliant to watch that mare just kick into a whole new gear and power her way to a fantastic victory.  What a race.  Uncle Mo put on an exciting win, too.  I really thought Morning Line was going to win, but right at the very end, about 100 feet from the finish, he just stopped pushing while Durango Phone just barrelled away and pulled to a victory.  It was sad to hear about a horse named Rough Sailing, who truly lived up to his name, slipping and falling around the first turn and breaking his leg.  He got up and ran off, and you can really tell that leg is sort of swinging , but he galloped away and was later euthanized.

But I think the most exciting race of all was race 11 under the lights at Churchill Downs.  Zenyatta really lolled behind.  She always done.  Every single one of her other 19 races had been won with her at the back of the pack from the start.  She’s a late speed horse if there ever was one.  But she really drifted back very very far and looked asleep through the first turn.  She finally got a little momentum and got boxed in by half a dozen other horses and had no where to make her move.  By the time she got an opening, she shot up to the front of the pack, and as I watched I literally jumped off the sofa screaming.  My husband said she wasn’t going to make it, but I said yes she will!  There she goes!  She’s doing it!  Come on ZENYATTA!!!

That moment right there, coming down the final stretch, is what racing is really all about.  What an exhilarating moment.  I full believe that if she made her move a little sooner, didn’t get boxed in, or had another 30 feet before the finish, she would have won.  What a major disappointment for her to lose by a head on her glorious final race.

Still, she’s a phenomenal horse.  Not many race horses of all time can say they’ve won 19 out of 20 starts.  She’s still an invaluable mare and I can’t wait to see if her offspring ever manage to do anything interesting in a few years.  That’s the real kicker.  I don’t think it’s in the genetics.  I think some horses are just special.  They compare her to Secretariat, and while Zenyatta never stunned the world with a massive length victory, they were both great racehorses.  But, like Seabiscuit, Seattle Slew, and many others, Secretariat’s progeny never did anything constructive.  Sure there were winners, but there was never another champion.  And I think right now, everyone is looking at Zenyatta to produce another… Zenyatta.  I don’t think it will happen.  Maybe they should breed her to Blame.  LOL.

I really wanted to go to Chruchill to see the races live and in person.  I checked into it, and of course everything was sold out.  $50 for parking, but no parking available, so who knows where we would have had to park.  I found a motel about 15 miles away where we could have stayed.  It would have been nice.

I’ve been saying ever since Fusiachi Pegasus won the Derby in what… 1997?  That I’ve wanted to go watch a MAJOR race at a major track.  Well, maybe in 2011 I’ll finally make the effort to go to do.  I could just to the track 20 minutes from me and watch the Arlington Million.  It’s a Grade I stakes race,  but in my opinion, if it’s not at Churchill Downs or part of the triple crown, I don’t want to go.  LOL 🙂  I’ve been to Keeneland, which is in Lexington, but never to Churchill in Louisville.

Anyway…

Looking very forward to Chewie’s lesson today and hopefully at the very least getting the ponies some free time in the arena, too.  Not looking forward to the dark at 5 crap, but am looking forward to it being 60 today!

Have a good Sunday.

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, hunter/jumper, Photography, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

