Good ride and loose horse!

I have been so busy with the Photo-A-Day challenge on the equine photographers forum that I have barely had any time to think about anything else.  It’s really hard getting to the barn everyday before the light runs out and get photos.

I’m learning a ton, for sure.  And the other nice thing is I get to go to the barn EVERY.DAY.  Which I do not normally do.  I feel like I am bonding with my horses a little more than normal.  🙂  It’s nice.

I’m also finding some time to ride after getting pictures and before it gets too dark.  Last night I pulled out Chewie and he donned his new saddle. I think I have got all the “minor adjustment” kinks worked out; I’ve got my stirrups set to a good length, and I know what holes to put the girth to now.  So we rode, and he did great.  He started out a little lazy – I think I might use a crop with him for a while.  Once I got after him a little for not moving forward, he was brilliant!  He did so great!

I set up my ground poles in a course.  There’s 6 poles now, not 4. I don’t know where the other 2 came from, but I can do  a little more.  So I did a course that included a lead change.  He did great!  He cantered around and GOT HIS STRIDES! YAY! (Big accomplishment there). He did his simple lead changes well and then I thought, hmm… I ‘m going to challenge you a little.  I do think he is bored with the arena work, and I am too. It’s different when you have company, or are taking a lesson so you have things to work on… so I decided to challenge him a little, and even though these are only ground poles, we did roll backs – some sharp ones, too- and I really ran him through like he was doing a jumper round, or a hunter medal round.  He did great. 

Even when one other boarder headed into the arena with her horse to lunge, which caught Chewie’s attention, so he went through his lines with his head up and ears perked forward looking at the other horse, he still stayed on track and maintained the correct pace and came right around to his roll backs and all.  I’m almost half tempted to jump him on my own.  As a rule, I do not jump outside my instructor’s supervision, but since I’m taking lessons few and far between, we’re not jumping that often.

So then after an exceptional ride, we cooled off while the other person was lunging.  And Chewbacca’s pasture mate, who had been in the round pen the whole time for dinner, got himself loose!  The little snot knows how to unlatch the round pen gate chain.  Apparently he’s done it before and both he and Chewie have gone sightseeing… hmm…  So, I call to the barn owners, and soon there’s 4 people trying to catch the loose 3 year old. 

Once Gus realized he was free – MAN, DID HE START RUNNING!  He’s half Arab, too, so his tail went straight up and he took off all around the property.  The horse on the lunge line started bolting and bucking, and my wonderful, wonderful Chewbacca, just stood there quietly watching, completely unphased by all the commotion. I  love this horse 🙂

I really do. He is perfect.  He is exactly what I was looking for and I am so glad I purchased him. He has filled out wonderfully and looks like a big solid Quarter Horse now, and he’s just gorgeous.  I am still trying to see if I can afford to board him at my trainer’s barn for a month, right now, I do not think I am going to be able to.  I also am not able to get the hubby to haul me over there for lessons anymore, so I right as of now, it seems like all my progress I’ve made with Chewie will be lost because I have no way of taking lessons or improving.  Sucks.  But at least he’s the perfect horse 🙂

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse, hunter/jumper, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

