Rock and roll!

Nothing like a good  work your ass off riding lesson to kick my butt in gear!!!  Yesterday also marked the start of the Photo-A-Day challenge on the equine photographer’s network.  You can view my photo-a-day by visiting my photography blog in the blog roll on the right.

Yesterday I also took a riding lesson with Chewie.  I addressed several concerns I had about how things were going, and yes, it really is very clear now that my saddle no longer fits him.  He has filled out so much and muscled up that the saddle is too narrow and is pinching him and restricting shoulder motion as well as causing back pain because it does not sit correctly over his spine.  So, my trainer gave me a school saddle to ride in.  It fit him better, but not perfectly, but the difference was incredible.

Right away, after he walked some, he moved more freely and rode like he had been when I first started working him.  The last few days, he’s been working like he’s got peg legs that only go up and down, not forward.  Definitely need a new saddle.  So, for now, if I want to ride, it will be bareback.  Which means I also need to get a taller mounting block because there’s no way in hell I’m using the barrels again to get on him 🙂 LOL.

I think I’ll give him a few days off so his back can get a little better and then I’ll be heading out later today to shop for saddles.  Joy.  I am NOT looking forward to retiring my saddle, which I have had for 12 years, but if I must, I must.

In the mean time, we worked on some of the issues I’ve been having lately, faults in my riding, and we worked on simple lead changes, and we jumped!  Woo hoo!!  He did SOOOOOOO good !!  I think he likes jumping!  He got a little crooked the one time, acting as though maybe he wasn’t sure he could jump it, but a little leg and a push saying YES YOU CAN, and he went over it!  It was a crossrail about twice as tall as the small brush box we jumped the first time…. so about a foot tall instead of 8″.  LOL.  But he jumped it well and I was thrilled.

I wish I had pictures….

Oh well.  In the mean, there’s plenty of pictures on my photography blog for the next whole month!  I am looking forward to a trip to the barn every single day, and no, it won’t always be my horses in the pictures.

Time to go start the day now!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, miniature horse, Photography, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

