2 days, twice the practice, 4 times the horses! Lot of pictures!!!

I managed to get in a fair bit of photography practice this weekend… with the  WWII  from yesterday and then the horses today!  I worked 2 horses yesterday and got 2 worked today also.

I had a FANTASTIC RIDE on Chewbacca today.  (As usual!)  I am SOOOOO happy with that horse, I just cannot begin to quantify it.  He is terrific.  Not without flaws, mind you.. he’s not the perfect horse, but he’s perfect for me, and I think he will be perfect for the jobs I ask him to do, as well.  Today’s workload included some rein-less riding, which sometimes I feel there’s improvement on, and other times, not so much.  It will be a LONG LONG LONG way before I can ride him competently without a bridle, and I have no illusions that I’ll be able to train him over the course of the next few months.  This will be several years of training, but none the less, every time I ride, I will warm up or cool down (or both) with no rein contact unless needed and try to get him to be more responsive to my seat/legs.  I get some moments of brilliance, but so far, we are just working on walking in a straight line and turning.  Haven’t tried to trot him yet.

But for the rest of the ride, I worked him over several ground poles and he did great.  I cantered him around several times on the buckle, and he was wonderful.  I had to take up some contact over the poles to help adjust him for the right strides, but on the rail, he was on the buckle.  He is just a super awesome horse and I love how incredibly light he is on the reins.  It’s awesome.  He’s awesome!

I cracked out the camera and took a lot of practice shots.  Prepare to be inundated.  I’ve been getting some input from some other photographers and definitely know now more than anything that the lens I am currently using is a major draw-back.  It gets good pictures, but I need to get a better one to start to see improvements.  So… it’s a 50/50 thing, now… do I pay for board at the show barn for Chewbacca for the winter, or do I save and buy a new lens?  Board is about the same as a new lens… $650/mo and the lens I want/need is around $600-$800, so not much difference… hmmm…

Choices, choices, choices….

Anyway… come share in my barn adventures for the day and  enjoy the photos.  I would love to hear your comments on  my photography, and yes, feel free to tell me that my horses are an absolutely wonderful group.  🙂 🙂  I don’t mind hearing that 🙂

First up on the photography docket was Luke.  He was the last one I visited with this morning after riding Chewbacca and lunging Dixie, so I put him first on the list to photograph.  I wanted to work on BOKEH.  Bokeh is a photography term that basically means the background of the image is out of focus and forms little “fuzzy balls” LOL.  I know how that sounds, but basically, that’s Bokeh, and I don’t have any horse pictures with Bokeh in the background.  So, these two head shots were my first attempt at specifically getting Bokeh.  And I am always working on getting the perfect head shots, too.

Luke is insanely fun to photograph.  Usually, anyway.  He is very very expressive and animated in just about everything he does.  These above two shots are basically the same, but I did remove the wad of hay from his mouth in the first one. LOL.

If you are thinking that Luke looks a bit tubby, you’d be wrong.  LOL.  He is pleasantly plump.  He still fits between the shafts of his cart fine (I know, I drove him last night).  He’s the Arnold Pony.  He has to pull a 200# cart and a driver that weighs…well… more.  He only weighs 600# himself, so he’s quite a beefy pony.  I think he’s perfect.

And if you are looking at this rather boring image and wondering by any chance if the red all over the ground is some kind of weird flower or weed, you’d also be wrong.

Millions, upon millions and millions of box elder babies are in two massive herds all over the ground in Luke’s paddock.  Don’t know if they like the dirt, the manure, or what, but they are absolutely festering.  It’s a little creepy, actually.

And then I headed to Chewbacca’s paddock for a little photography time.  Again, trying to practice getting Bokeh in the background…

And then, trying to get a perfect headshot.  I wouldn’t know without a critique, really, what the “perfect head shot” actually is, but I know I am very happy with how my headshots came out today.

And a side profile of the most handsome horse everrrrrrr 🙂  Doesn’t he look happy?  I think he looks happy.

Here he is peeking over the back of his pasture buddy, looking right at me wondering what I’m doing… and look, Bokeh in the background (sort of), too.  I absolutely love this horse’s profile.  He has a such a beautiful jowl, a strong chiseled chin and that beautiful straight nose with beautifully set eyes that look intelligent and docile.  He is gorgeous to look at, and his body is filling out, muscling up, and putting on weight.  He’s just a beautiful horse.  Now, I realize, I’m not too partial, am I ?  LOL.

Buuutt… apparently he thought getting his picture taken was getting pretty boring………..

LOL,  How’s this for facial expression 🙂

And one more because he’s ridiculously cute….

And then a final adventure over to Dixie.  Who also thought having her picture taken for the ten millionth time was pretty boring.

And apparently, she was very itchy…..

And if you think she’s looking a bit plump… well, all I can say is my pictures are VERY FLATTERING.  She’s even fatter than she looks here.  Trust me.  LOL.  Now you see why I’ve been trying to work her 3 times a week.  She’s losing weight, finally, a little, I do see it, but she is just friggin’ huge….

She looks more than a little bored in this image, but I love her profile, too.  Dixie is not a great conformation mini, but she has a very nice head, with good proportion to her body, and a pleasant little dished profile.

And if you’re thinking she’s looking a little gray around the eyes and nose, you’d be right… Dixie is 16 years old in a few months.  She’s getting to be an old lady!!  LOL.  She’s probably got about 20 more years left, though. LOL.

Ok, well that’s the crew and most of my practice pictures!  Have a good rest of the weekend (what little there is….)  Back to work tomorrow!!

joy..

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, miniature horse, Photography, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

