Rain rain stay away! What a lazy day…

I consider today a lazy day.  Mostly it’s lazy because I slept till 8am (which is rare for me) and didn’t run right out to the barn the second I woke up to start working horses (which I like to do on the weekends since i have all day). . ..  When I got up, I checked the weather instead right away because I am looking forward to riding and horse showing tomorrow.

I am feeling better about my teeny itty problem the other day.  It sounds stupid to be so stressed about a head toss a couple of times, but like I said.. I’ve  ridden and owned horses that have done everything from little fits to major meltdowns.  With those horses, I rode through it, and they were fine.  The next time I got on them, they were fine.  It’s something that happens and you move on, right?  Well, with Spyder, there was no riding through, no moving on.  I had to get rid of the horse and came to the realization that my riding ruined that mare.  I’m terrified to do it again, especially to a horse as indescribably nice as Chewbacca.  I just don’t want to have those problems again, I don’t want to create those problems again, which is why I let every little detail gnaw at me and I start wondering how I screwed up this time.  But I feel better now, after thinking on it more.  All he did was toss his heads a couple times.  I rode him through and we did the work I needed to do.  Life went on and it was fine.  I’m sure he’ll be fine tomorrow, too, when I ride.

Speaking of tomorrow, it is supposed to rain.  When I woke up this morning it was pouring.  It had rained for a few hours in the morning and by the time I had cooked breakfast this morning it was a torrential downpour complete with thunder and lightning and it knocked the satellite reception out too.  It’s supposed to rain tomorrow again like that.  Fortunately, it was supposed to rain all day today too, and it didn’t.  It finally ended around 10 and cleared up and was decent all day.

I finally went to the barn in the afternoon after cleaning the house, doing laundry, cleaning my tack, getting my show clothes and other things together for tomorrow, and yes … working on the dollhouse, too ( and I call this a lazy day??)…  I got to the barn and ran little lard butt, aka Dixie the min, around the round pen.  Going with the “lazy” theme, I did not want to drive.  Beside, everything was soaked and I do not drive in the arena when it’s wet… too hard for the driving ponies to pull carts through deep, wet sand.  I played with Luke a little and then got out my lime green halter for Chewbacca.

He’s all braided up… I sure do hope they stay in.  I’d rather fix a couple braids tomorrow morning instead of doing the whole job tomorrow.  He looked very pretty when I left him this afternoon.  He’s clean, shiny, and all braided up.  I even French braided his forelock as best as I can considering I SUCK at French braiding.  I tried to do his tail…  I’ve been riding for 18 years.. showing for 12 or 13, and NEVER have done a tail.  I cannot French braid worth squat.  So his tail is not braided, lol.  Maybe I can bum a braid-job from someone at the show tomorrow..lol.  Maybe I just won’t worry about it.  I’m a little rusty on braiding in general… you don’t braid driving ponies’ manes.  It’s been 4 years or so since I’ve braided a mane.  I’m happy with the job, but I’m sure it looks laughable to others.  It meets my standards, though.

Pictures tomorrow! (Lots, hopefully…)  If it’s not raining that is!  This whole thing is totally weather dependant.  So I’m keeping my fingers crossed that we don’t get drenched overnight and into the morning.  Yes, the show is indoors, but the barns only have outdoor stalls and we usually show out of the trailer and last time we went when it rained the day before, we got the truck stuck in the mud.  That was not a fun day…. with Luke in the trailer, kicking mud everywhere.  LOL.

But, I’m staying hopeful for a rain-free night and morning.  Got the truck packed, trailer cleaned, horse braided… camera charged!!!!  Can’t wait!!!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, hunter/jumper, miniature horse, Photography, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

