Horsey Week, Great Ride! Showtime!!

I loved having 4 days off from work to spend at the barn.  Sadly, with 3 horses to work and oversee, I spent so much time at the barn that I failed to partake in other home-related things I wanted to do.  Other than doing a little bit of scrapbooking, I did want to spend some quality time on this 4 day staycation doing work on the dollhouse, and yet, I didn’t.  I will put forth an honest effort to do some work on it in the next several weekends.  It’s a long way from done, but every little bit helps.  (My husband and I have been refinishing my 31 year old doll house- he started it, completed the lighting, and now I’ve got to finish it.  It’s been sitting for a long, long time now.).

However, in all my time I spent at the barn, it was all good!!  Luke the hackney got driven, Dixie got driven and lunged a few times, and Chewbacca got ridden.  I rode Chewie on Monday Labor Day and had a GREAT ride.  He’s improved so so so much in the short time I’ve owned him.  What a truly exceptional horse!!!  Tuesday they all got their feet done and had a play day in the arena.  I brought out my big ball (errr…. exercise ball, that is) and the tarp.  Chewie walks right over the tarp now and stands on it.  I think I’ll try riding him over the tarp some time soon…  He doesn’t mind the ball one bit, either.  Luke and Dixie have seen those things before so it’s old news, and both of them will come right up onto the trap with no halter, just for a treat.  Dixie will wear the tarp.  LOL.

Wednesday I took a break from the barn and did not go, but last night I headed out there rather late to ride and lunge Dixie.  I’m trying to do as much as I possibly can with her.  She’s getting grossly obese on the new hay the barn’s feeding, and she’s not in a position to be moved to a different pasture or get less hay, so I need to bump up her work load.  I think she’s slimming down a tiny bit already.  It’s only been a week, though.  So a few more weeks and there should be a big difference.

Chewbacca was W-O-N-D-E-R-F-U-L for his ride yesterday!!! I think he likes his new bit.  He was moving totally forward and round at the walk and trot and made excellent walk-canter transitions and rode round and forward at the canter, too!  He made his strides correctly through the ground lines, too!!  In the paddock next the arena, there were 3 people working on the fence lines, with post hole diggers, dragging new fence through, and making a lot of banging.  In the 2 pastures on the other side of the arena, there were 8 horses having a battle over the fencelines between the two pastures and all of them were running back and forth, kicking up dust, squealing and bucking.  Which in turn, set off the 3 year old who was in the round pen in front of the outdoor because they were working on the fence in his pasture.  So there were 9 horses running, bucking, squealing and 3 people banging. …  and what did Chewie do?  Put his head down to the bit, went round, and moved forward.  AWESOME!!!!!  AWESOME!!!  AWESOME!!!!!

At one point, I stopped to watch the horses in the field because they were all getting silly and frisky.  Chewie stood and watched.  We could have very well been a ranch horse in Montana overseeing a herd of wild mustangs like it was old news.  Chewie never flinched.  He was terrific.

We have got a lesson on Saturday morning, and then next Sunday I am going to take him to a small show!  I am looking forward to both!!!  Can’t wait!!

Until next time!

Check out my photography blog in the blogroll, too!!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, hunter/jumper, Jumpers, miniature horse, Photography, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

