What a weekend!!!

Well, Saturday was lovely.  It started out with a great riding lesson and continued on to include a nice trip to a beach, although it did come up a little short on actually swimming.  But, eh… a nice Saturday none the less.   Sunday offered some beautiful weather and we took the ponies out for a drive in the morning while there was a gentle breeze and moderate temperatures.  The rest of Sunday made for a great afternoon of crashing at home.  Chewbacca got Sunday off because he worked so well on Saturday morning, but he got his treats and I think he’s warming up to me.  He picks his head up now when I call to him, which he wasn’t doing before.

And then came Monday.  Ugh.  Monday.  The dreaded first day of the work week, where you have to pull yourself out of bed, drag yourself into your work clothes and out to your car, when you’d much rather be putting on your “dirty sneakers” and go to the barn instead… ESPECIALLY when you do lug yourself out of your home and find it to be a perfect 68 degrees with a beautiful breeze and sunny sky.  Oh, it would have been nice to ride yesterday morning.

However, Monday is not a “barn day”.  It is one day of the week where I typically do not go the barn at all. Usually because I’ve been there Saturday and Sunday and the horses are cared for without me there, so I don’t have to go feed them every day.  Thank heavens for boarding barns!! 🙂  Anyway…. before I left the house for work on the picture perfect morning that it was, my husband woke up with pain, numbness, and tingling in his left arm.

Now, he’s 41, extremely overweight, and the first thing you might think when there’s tingling in the left arm is a heart attack.  Well.. normally you’d probably be right, but this is something that’s been going on for a while.  Last week I found a lump over his bicep area and when I pressed it, it would make the nerves hurt in his arm.  None the less, he woke up in pain and unable to move it.  We were not fearful of a heart attack, but it was high time he stopped ignoring it and went to the doctor.  He called me at work after his appointment and said the doctor things he could have possibly had a mini-stroke, possibly relating to the brain surgeries he’s had, or possibly from something entirely different.  So he recommended going to the ER for immediate care and a CT scan.  SO…. I came home from work and took him to the ER.  Where we proceeded to be for 10 hours yesterday afternoon into the night.  TEN HOURS at the hospital.  They did a CT and didn’t find anything, and then they did an MRI and didn’t find anything.  They looked at his heart and his brain, but never actually did anything with the arm that’s been hurting.  So they sent us home with no diagnoses and told him to follow up with a doctor today who will evaluate the shoulder/upper arm.

The whole time we were there we kept asking if they were going to test the arm and they said no.  However they said it is not normal to have weakness and numbness in the arm, so obviously something is causing it.  Gee, ya think?  Well… anyway, they ruled out heart attacks and stroke or any other brain/heart related issue.  He’s home and doing fine, but his arm is definitely bothering him.  There is a lump in his arm and the nerves are tingling.  Who knows what he did, but my guess is there’s some kind of cyst or tumor growing right there on a nerve cluster.

He’ll be making arrangements to follow up with the referral doctor today and I’ll be heading to work.  However, the weather is supposed to be beautiful once again today, which I am hoping makes an impact on the mosquito issue, because I really, really, really can’t wait to ride Chewie again today.

I missed not being there yesterday to see him… hmm…… but I am looking forward to riding tonight.  Little Dixie the mini could also use a relief from the biting bugs.  She has been suffering severely from being bitten over and over and over again.  She’s lost quite a bit of hair on her shoulders, neck, and face from constant bombardment of biting insects.  She has open sores and I’ve found them bleeding several times… either from her itching them or from recent bug bites.  Unfortunately I pasture board, so there’s no relief for her.  I’m trying a home remedy, which so far seems to be helping, and I hope for a decline in bugs this week which will be a great help….. Otherwise, I’ll have to cough up the money to put her in a stall for a week or two until she can heal.

Tonight’s plan includes riding Chewie, and I’m looking forward to working him at the canter over the ground poles today.. and I may drive the hackney if there’s time too.  Otherwise, I’ll go back tomorrow and do that I think..

Well, we’ll see what happens. For now… off to work.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, miniature horse, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What a weekend!!!

  1. silverpony says:

    hey! i finally hunted down your blog again! it’s jessica 😀 i started my own a while ago and i figure we can keep in touch this way! the link to it is
    http://silverpony.wordpress.com/

    and your knew horse sounds great!! wish i could have met him

    • kshai1715 says:

      Hey! Good to talk to you!!! I wish you the best of luck in Virginia and can’t wait to read all about your adventures!! Luna looks like she’s doing great and it sounds like you’re heading in to a perfect life! Enjoy and I’ll keep you posted all about Chewbacca!!

Leave a Reply

