First riding lesson! A hunter he may be!!

Well, I’ve officially had Chewbacca a full week now! It’s terribly exciting!!!  This morning we hauled over to the show barn where I take lessons and had my first lesson with him.  My trainer was very happy with him!! He got off the trailer and looked around and then got handwalked a little bit in the indoor arena full of jumps… probably the first time he’s ever seen a hunter course.  He didn’t flinch an eyelid.  He didn’t care about the tractor being run, coming through the arena, or the other horses in there.  He is such a good boy!!!

He trotted over some ground poles and my trainer and I talked about a work plan for him.  She does think that in about 4 weeks or so, after some weight and consistent riding and muscle-building.. he’ll be ready to start teaching crossrails!  Woo!!  She said she couldn’t tell that he’s not an English trained horse.  He did so well and worked on rounding and flexing and bending and rode with direct reining so well, my trainer was very pleased and I am elated that I really feel like I got a great horse that’s happy to go around and arena.  I am looking forward to getting him out on a trail, too.

It was a great day all around.  My husband was kind enough not only to haul me to the lesson but also to take pictures.  Unfortunately, I failed to set the camera to automatic, so the pictures came out awful.  Too dark in the indoor and too bright outside.  I salvaged a few in Photoshop, but I’ll definitely have to re-do pictures, hopefully I’ll get to ride this week (mosquitoes permitting…) but for now, Chewie gets the next day or two off.  I’m going to try to drive both ponies tomorrow, so I have my work cut out for me!!

Here are some pictures!!

such a good boy!!!!

Once we got back to the barn and Chewie, Luke, and Dixie all had their treats and vitamins and I treated Dixie’s bug bites, we then headed off to go swimming.  It was about 85 and just hot enough we thought we’d go somewhere new.
Well, that “somewhere new” was Lake Michigan.. and guess what… the water was probably somewhere between 35-40 degrees..  It was SO COLD we didn’t swim.  But it was a beautiful beach, a beautiful park, and Lake Michigan is like a small ocean.  As far as you can look, you can’t see land.  I t was really amazing, and nice to be somewhere were there was sand and surf… even it was freezing cold surf!!

Here’s the hubby wading into the water…

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, hunter/jumper, Hunters, Jumpers, miniature horse, Photography, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

