Ride #3! Doing awesome!!

Well, it was BRUTALLY HOT yesterday at the barn… the mosquitoes were swarming, planning world domination… at when I got to the barn around 430 in the afternoon, it was 87 according to my car.  I putzed around for a good long while, taking my time getting my tack and prepping Chewie.  I think by the time I actually rode it was closer to 530 and barely a degree cooler.  I kept it very very short. But it’s amazing how incredibly productive 15-20 minutes of riding can be.

We walked on a long rein and guess what he did??  FLEXED HIS POLL AND DROPPED HIS HEAD!  You would’ve that he was a Western Pleasure horse, walking around on the buckle with his nose practically on the ground and his poll flexed.  IT was awesome and I was thrilled!

We picked up a trot and after a little bit of motivational speech (“yes.. I know it’s hot, but I really can’t post your western jog.. please extend..”).. he flexed his poll and lowered his head at the trot too!  Not as consistently, and mostly only while tracking left… not so much tracking right.  But after only 3 rides (and not being ridden since last year) to have that kind of improvement is splendid and I was elated!!!!

I had laid down trot poles, too.  1 on one side of the arena and 2 on the other.  We trotted around over the poles with no problems.  Maybe not the straightest lines you’ve ever seen, but once I picked up the reins a little and supported him through… guess what he did… he actually picked his legs up into a little tiny jump over one ground pole!  Awesome!  I mean it wasn’t a “bend the knee and canter off” type jump, but there was a definite “hump” to him as he went over the pole with a little more effort.

We cantered each direction once and then walked off.  It was just too painfully hot to do anything any more constructive.  But we did canter over my 1 ground pole with no problems at all!

Woooo!!  I’m so thrilled!!!

Thursday’s outlook is supposed to be over 100.  NO RIDING THEN !!!!  So I guess the next ride will be my lesson on Saturday morning and since I’m forcing the hubby to haul me… (I don’t drive his truck… not that I can’t, but I won’t)… I’ll also be forcing him to take pictures! LOL!

I should have pictures of me riding him soon, but for now, this is pretty much the only picture I have of Chewie from last night after our ride:

It was so buggy out that he pretty much stuck to one spot where the bugs weren’t bad and ate grass while Luke and Dixie picked a different spot.  OH!  He met Dixie yesterday too for the first time.  He was definitely interested in her… I’m betting hands down he’s never seen a mini before!  But Luke quickly separated them and he and Dixie went to a different end of the arena while Chewie got left alone.  Then everybody came in for a bran mash… which of course Chewie did not eat!!!  He’s way too picky.  I’ll be trying a few more tricks I’ve got up my sleeve to get him to eat treats to fatten him up a bit and give him his Source Vitamins.

Here’s Dixie’s opinions of the bugs incidentally!

Get off! Get off! Get off!!!

LOL!  Luke missed his photo opportunities by refusing to stand anywhere where the lighting was decent.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, Hunters, Jumpers, miniature horse, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

