OK, seriously.. the biggest sunflowers are getting bigger…

Just when I thought they couldn’t POSSIBLY get any bigger…

NO, this is not a horse post today.  No barn tonight.  One advantage of boarding  — my horses are taken care of in all weathers and I don’t have to go.  But I will be out there tomorrow in the 100 degree temps to hose them down and hopefully get my new horse Chewbacca to eat a bran mash.  Luke the hackney pony and Dixie the mini look forward to their yummies.  Chewbacca hasn’t quite warmed up to it yet.. but it’s only been 5 days.  Give him time, give him time..
Anywho…

does anyone out there know anything about Sunflowers??  When the heck am I supposed to harvest these suckers??  And from what I’ve been reading online, you’re supposed to hang them upside down in a cool dry place for 1-2 weeks for the seeds to just fall out… how do I know when they’re read to be lobbed off the stalk??

My “Super Sunflower” I THOUGHT was the biggest one I’ve ever seen.  It grew to be a little over 9.5 feet before it started tipping down.  The stalk has a 4″ circumference and the head of it is about 18″ across the center. I tried moving it the other day just to see if I could lift it, and I could barely move it waaaay above my head.  I could hardly reach it as it is, but I think the thing weighs 25 pounds!  It’s HUGE.

I quickly snapped some pictures tonight of it..

Wow.. those are big pictures.. hmmm…. anyway, there’s a far off shot and a close up of the head.. I have no idea if this thing is ready for cutting or not…

Here’s my secondary sunflower that’s starting to tip over.  This baby reached a height of just over 10′ feet before it started sagging.

And a close up of the head on that one.. It is not far as along as the other one… so I don’t know.. is this one too early to harvest, or did I wait too long on the other one??

And here’s a shot off them from a distance, showing off the super huge one on the left, the 10′ tall in the middle, and just next to that the one that is now 10.5′ feet tall!  TEN AND HALF FEET!!!! I don’t know what I did right with these things, but they are the biggest Sunflowers I ever seen in my life.

Any insight in to sunflower picking is much appreciated.

And tomorrow, I’ll will try to have pictures of Chewbacca, Luke, and Dixie. It’s going to be super hot tomorrow, so I plan on hosing them down and giving Chewbacca a true bath (shampoo and all). My brand new saddle pad I just bought for him and used twice was FILTHY.  He’s a dirty, dirty, horse.  A good cleaning will do him good… and I’ll take a picture of it before I put him back outside and he rolls and gets… filthy.  Lol.

Tomorrow is definitely a day off riding and driving.  Mental note to self– must get Luke and Dixie driven this weekend!!! I can’t slack on them just because I have Chewbacca now!!!!!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Hunters, Jumpers, miniature horse, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

