Chewbacca and the new life…

Well, today is not a “barn day” so even though the temptation is there to go out and play with Chewbacca and Luke and Dixie, too.. I’m going to give myself a needed break and work on a few other things at home.  I have a couple of minor projects I can complete tonight on my “non barn day”.

Tomorrow, I am looking forward to riding Chewie… assuming it’s not a million degrees out like it is today.  Hopefully Luke will get driven by the hubby, and I’ve GOT to make some time to drive Dixie too.  She sat for almost two years because we had other horses to mess with and then I was taking lessons and just had no interest.  She’s actually a very good little driving pony that does a great job, so I need to keep her in work, even if only twice a month or so.  She’ll have the whole winter off as it is, but she’s a plump little thing that needs to work !!!

However, of course, I think my priority is riding Chewie.  I will try to drive Dixie this weekend.. of course, I said that about this past weekend too.  Hmm….

Anyway, since today isn’t a barn day, let me rehash a few things I learned about Mr. Chewbacca yesterday…

He is quiet as a mouse. 

His tender-footedness on the stone /gravel drive way is getting better.  He was pretty damn crippled on Saturday, but by Sunday afternoon he was already walking 90% better. Only a bad step here and there rather than every time.

His bite on his back is doing MUCH better. Some DMSO here… Neosporin there.. perfect! Much less swollen and he’s not as painful to touch it.

He stands single tied to anything quietly. He stands cross tied quietly.  He is quiet. 

He’s so perfect it’s sicekning!!!

He is perfect for hosing and scraping.  He is fine for fly spray.

He really looks good in neon green polo wraps!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂  although he does the “leg shake” when you first put them on.

He does not bend well to the right.

I am not sure how he’s used to being cued to get which lead, so we’re currently working that one out. I think I ask differently than he’s used to.

I currently use a slow twist full cheek snaffle and definitely think I need to change out to a normal eggbut.  He simply does not need a twist.

He does not like to eat molasses. 

I’m trying to give him some natural buteless solution and it is very vinegary.. so I mixed it up with molasses and he won’t touch it.  I also tried feeding him a molasses treat before that and he spit it out. 

He does love oatmeal cookies.

Hmmm… I think that’s about all I learned about him on Sunday. I miss him today, but really need to keep this evening to myself.

If it rains or is brutally hot tomorrow I’ll still go out and see him and let him play with Luke and meet Dixie… and bring the camera.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, miniature horse, Photography, Quarter Horse, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

