Down to the wire….

Well, after a little run of difficulty getting the horse pre-purchased, his owner and I have worked something out and now we’re just down to the wire.  She was going to have me pick up the horse and use my vet here to examine him and if he were to fail, she would come get him, however, we both agreed it would be easiest on everyone (even the horse), if he could be pre-purchased locally.

Due to issues with the 2 closest vets, I was left with almost no options. The 3rd vet out wouldn’t come out to the town because it is so far away that it’s out of range of where he travels.  So, it seemed like things were going to fall apart before they ever got anywhere.

However, after a few talks with the owner, who was very willing to make this happen it ended up that as of this morning, plans are made to have the horse pre-purchased.    I’ve talked to the vet and now the owner and the vet are going to get together and arrange the appointment.  The owner is going to haul the horse to the vet!

How cool is that?!  My trainer was surprised that she was willing to do this, but honestly, depsite the issue with not paying her bills to the vets, I do think this woman is being honest about most things and I think she really wants me to have her horse… I’m sure in part because it means a lot of extra cash in her pocket, but also because I do think she wants him to have a good home and understands the need for a vet exam not only to protect myself, but the horse, too.  It’s not fair on the horse to buy him for use with something that he cannot do physically.

So, now everything is pretty much set and the vet exam should be getting done tonight sometime.  Hopefully I will get a call from the vet tonight that he is good as gold and I’ll go get him Friday night!  WOOO!

I can’t wait to have a horse of my own again.  LOL.  Do I sound like a kid or what ???  I want to love him, and brush him, and dress him up in neon green polo wraps, with his neon green halter and lead and neon green saddle pad– I’ll be the only English idiot in the barn riding in electric colors!  LOL.  Serioulsy… am I 31 or 13??

LOL…

I’ve got a few more neon green items on my watch list on eBay… even a shirt for me, because obviously I need to match!!!

Funny, when I first started looking for a horse, I was so hopeful to get a black or black and white horse.  Chestnut was at the bottom of my list of color options and now after riding this horse and seeing how good he is, bringing home this copper colored gelding is all I can think about 🙂

I’ll keep you posted!  Soon… the topic of this blog will be “A Barrel Horse Learns to Jump”.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse, hunter/jumper, Hunters, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

