WOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I went to look at the chestnut quarter horse this morning.  Besides taking about 3 hours to get there because I got lost (twice) and missed several turns I was supposed to take, I finally arrived no worse for wear, although a little frustrated at the overly extended driving due my not reading directions properly.

And the lady was waiting in the yard with the horse grazing.  I greeted her and then proceeded to inspect this lovely horse.  He is every bit the 16.2 hands they say he is.  He is in great weight, a little thin for my liking, but that’s only because I like them plump.  His ribs are well covered and he’s well muscled.  He had a pleasing eye and a gentle personality and very very nice conformation.  I did get down to his legs, and while he did flex all his joints just fine, his legs have a lot of old injuries to them.  The injuries seem very superficial and look mostly like swellings due to a fence run-in incident he had 3 years ago.  The woman said it happened one day when all her horses got loose and he lost so much blood he actually needed to be hospitalized and get a blood transfusion.  It’s very clear they care a great deal about the horse, and he’s well taken care of.

He hadn’t been ridden this year at all, not since last fall, actually.  The husband got on the horse for a few minutes and walked and cantered him.  I don’t think the hubby really knows how to ride, other than trail riding.  His hands were high and reins were short and they skipped the trot all together and the horse’s canter was quick, with a high head and it didn’t look good, but the horse did what he was supposed to and was very pleasant about it.

Then I tacked him up English for the first time in his life.  He’s already been posted on, so he was familiar with that.  He was happy to wear the saddle and completely laid back while being ridden.  He even tried to lower his head a bit and give to bit pressure.  He held his head slightly high the whole time, but nothing too bad – certainly not straight upright like a Saddlebred in the making 🙂  That’s how Tate was when I first got him.  This extremely nice chestnut Quarter Horse allowed me to ride him English for the first time ever and was a total gentleman about it.  Quiet, and easy to ride, he knows the basics- walk when asked, trot when asked, canter when asked, halt, back, and stand.  But he knows so much more than that, too…

He knows how to transition from extended trot to a shorter sitting trot.  I wouldn’t say a collected trot, because he doesn’t really gather through the poll, but he adjusts his strides.  He knows how to perform a hand gallop and come back to a lope.  He’ll canter around on both leads readily, and he does simple AND flying changes (a little sticky on the flying changes).  He is a completely flat work trained horse and is quiet, big, and gentle to boot.  This horse is wonderful!!!!!

So, in light of how good he was, the owner got me out a ground pole and I walked him over it, then trotted, then cantered.  Both directions at all 3 gaits and he took it in stride.  He did GREAT.

He’s perfect!!!!

Even though he is chestnut (lol)…. he IS PERFECT!!!!

I gave the owners a deposit after agreeing on a price, and I have intentions of getting him vet checked.  Right as now, the plan is for us to pick the horse up in 2 weeks – the owners are out of town until then, and it will take a while to get things organized with the vet and my finances and the owners are perfectly fine keeping him with them.  I will pay the remaining balance when I pick the horse up after a vet check.

It sucks that I need to wait so long to get him, but it will prove helpful to me to do that.  I do not think there will be anything wrong with him on the vet check.  Although his legs aren’t clean, I do not think there is anything problematic with that.  A good vet check will ease my mind about that.  In the mean time, I’ve already bought him a new halter, lead, and have a few more things to get him !!!!!! 🙂
The only totally stupid thing I did NOT DO… WAS TAKE PICTURES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I even took the camera with me and then I never TOOK A SINGLE PHOTO!!!  UGH!!!

The owner did take a picture on her cell phone, she was going to show the horse’s trainer that he’s an English horse now…. !!!  I’ve asked her to send me that picture, so I’ll put it up when I get it.

In the mean time, I can’t wait to write back about the barrel horse turned hunter in the future!!!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Hackney, horse, hunter/jumper, Photography, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

