World’s biggest sunflower!

It’s been a couple days since my birthday and I’m still feeling a bit miserable and unhappy.  I was pretty stressed out after a visit to my husband’s inlaws, which is quite routine, we see them far too often for my taste, and his mother  is such a high strung, tightly wound person that she is almost always in hysterics, while his father is a complete crab who makes sure everyone knows how miserable and crochety he is.  They are both elderly and borderline to the point where they need someone to care for them.  She cannot drive because she never learned how and is stuck in the “1940’s era women can’t and shouldn’t do anything other than stay in the kitchen and service her man” mindset.  She is paranoid about the world around her, afraid of being robbed and always hysterical about all the bad things she hears on the news all the time.  He can barely drive and is so full of maladies, he can’t walk, can’t hear, and is just a miserable person who is still stuck in wars he was in.  It’s a very frustrating things being around one or the other of them, but to have to be in the presence of both in-laws together is torture, and the worst part of it is we have to be there for hours and hours and hours, while if they come to visit us, they stay for about 15 minutes.  If we do the same to them, it’s not good enough.

Keeping up with their expectations is something I do not do. They do not accept you if you don’t hold to formal tradition and anything less than that is simply not good enough.  Everytime we go there, there’s always comments about what we’re wearing or how we’re doing something – the requirement that we dress up and be on formal stance while we’re there is infuriating and frustrating.  Add to that  that neither of my parents could be bothered to call to wish me a happy birthday or send a card, and it was just a frustrating day.  The following day wasn’t much better, just tension and anger from the previous day toppling over to the next day.

On the plus sides, I had a good, although difficult riding lesson this morning on the horse “I hate”.  You know I use that term loosely, but I do not liking riding him.  Today’s lesson, I got to jump him 2’9″ and he did really well.  There were a few bumps in the road, and this horse is very very difficult to ride and to get him to get his leads can be a battle.  He doesn’t bend to the left, and doesn’t do flying changes, and he’s difficult to get good simple changes with, so it makes riding him very hard, because he gets strung out easily, pulls on the reins, doesn’t bend, is hard to collect, and very hard to swap and get correct leads.  Today’s lesson involved a lot of missed leads, and a lot of on-course circling.  It was only 70 but the humidity was killing me and by the time I was done riding, I was dripping with sweat, beet red, and totally out of breath.  I did manage to get him around the course, and through the single stride obstacle that I was having some troubles with.  So it was a good, although difficult lesson.

After that, I headed to the barn to see the ponies, who went driving today and I am happy to say that Luke is 99.99% better.  He took 2 little steps today that were more like tripping steps, but he wasn’t lame and didn’t seem sore at all.  I’ll keep an eye him about that tripping, but he should be well on the road to going back to a consistent work schedule, and I look forward to seeing this quarter horse tomorrow. I hope he works out.

I took a quick visit to the county fair last night to have a peek at my images and see if I won anything, and I was very disappointed that I did not get a ribbon at all.  So that really sucks.

But here’s a fun picture that I don’t care if it gets a ribbon or not!  Earlier this year I planted sunflower seeds, and BOY DID THEY GROW.  I’ve never had sunflowers this big in my life!!!!

These sunflowers have gotten to be a little over NINE FEET tall!  A few years ago I planted sunflowers that got to be about 6 feet, but these sunflowers have astounded me.  I have no idea how they’ve gotten this big, but the circumference of the stalks and the size of the leaves is just amazing.  They are absolutely massive!!

I don’t know if they’re world’s biggest, lol, but they are certainly my personal record!!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, Horses, hunter/jumper, Hunters, Jumpers, miniature horse, Photography, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to World’s biggest sunflower!

  1. shawn says:

    my sunflower is now 11 1/2 – 12 feet tall and still hasnt fully bloomed….its huge….lol

    • kshai1715 says:

      That’s a big one!! I’ve got one that is now almost 11 feet tall. It has not fully bloomed yet. My other two that reached just over 10.5 feet have both fully bloomed and have fully developed seeds. They’re completely folded over now, and I check them every day to see when they’re ready to harvest… but I’m still not sure. When will they be ready to harvest?

Leave a Reply

