Birthday blues…

Blah… another year older today.  JOY.  In keeping with birthday tradition, I did treat myself to a day off work 😉    I’m a little bummed… but only due to the fact that I am 1 extra year older today.

I had a GREAT riding lesson last night on the horse I LOVE to ride.  I enjoy riding him because he’s broke to death and fun to ride, and I get to play and do really constructive things with him.  Last night, for example, I got to ride medals-type courses and do a lot of rollbacks and non-huntery things, so it was fun!  I do only jump around at about 2’3″ – 2’6″ and really wish I could jump a little higher with him just for the experience of doing that height again, but since he’s a hardworking school horse, I cannot.

Which is why I should get my own horse, right?  LOL.  I’m working on it.  One day I want a horse, one day I don’t… or I should say, one day I think I can afford a horse and one day I think I can’t.  Right now, I’m on the fence about whether I can afford it or not, but I am going to look at him:

Yes, yes, yes another flippin chestnut.  You know, though, if his personality shines, I don’t care about the color of his coat.  So far nearly every horse I’ve looked at and the only one I’ve taken on trial was a chestnut.  This horse is about 2 hours from me, so there won’t be a trial period, but I will go back and try him at least twice before I get a vet out to check him over.  He is 11, 16.2 hands and supposed to be a well broke QH gelding.  He has never been ridden English, but if he is willing and quiet, switching him to a new discipline shouldn’t be too hard.  I talked to my trainer about him and she suggests that I try to walk and trot him over a pole or twig, or fence post or whatever I can find to mimic a trotting pole just to see if he does it willingly or if it totally flips him out.  Honestly, color aside, he is handsome.  He has a beautiful straight profile to his head, which I find very attractive, and he looks to built well.  I’m a little concerned about why he appears to be base narrow in the front, but I am not sure that would really be a factor in what I want to do with him and it could also be how he’s standing.  He also looks a little down hill, but from this angle and with tack on, it’s hard to tell.. plus he could be standing on a slight hill, too.  Most QH’s are downhill anyway, and again, that has never really been an issue for my level of work.  When I started jumping my QH/Belg higher and higher, that became an issue getting him to come up under himself enough to jump 3′ or higher, and we started to work on Dressage to get him rounder and under himself more.  So again, if this horse is down hill, for my intended use, it shouldn’t be a problem.  Supposedly he’s sound and sane and well broke.  If all they say about him is true, this could be a good thing.  He’s been shown a lot (barrels) and is used to trailering and has also done a fair bit of trail riding.  They say he’s been around rodeos and all kind of activities and animals and machinery and nothing bothers him and they say you can leave him sit for months and ride him and have no issue.  He sounds like a nice nice nice animal, and he’s right in my price range.  Of course, I’ll try to negotiate, but if he is as nice as they truly say, there will not be a lot of haggle room.

In other news, my husband pestered the buggy lady to no end and got her, finally, after a 5 month ordeal, nearly 6 months, really, to return the money she owed us for screwing up the cart cover.  It took getting police involved and emailing her endlessly on my hubby’s part to get this woman to cough up the money she rightfully owed us.  She sent us a money order which was $30 short, and I was happy enough to leave it alone after that, but my husband remained insistant and supposedly now she’s going to send the other $30.  I’ve heard that before and will wait and see what happens.  Just again, to reiterate…  The Buggy Lady (Milaine Rosslow) http://www.thebuggylady.com is an incompetent, dishonest, thief, liar, and fraud.  She is incapable of making the products she says she can do and is unwilling to communicate and address issues and hides from her own lies.  Do NOT DO BUSINESS EVER WITH THIS NIGHTMARE WOMAN.

I will try to pay a visit to the county fair today or maybe this weekend and spy my pictures hanging up on the walls and see if I’ve gotten any ribbons. I am curious to know 🙂

I’ll keep you posted!!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Dressage, Driving, Hackney, Horses, Photography, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

