Not exactly instilled with confidence…

As nice as it could be to own a once expensive imported Oldenburg, it really does not sound like the horse is going to work out.  I have not heard from the owner’s vet yet to discuss the horse and the most recent xrays it’s had.  I came across the ad for the horse from the end of May.  The horse is listed for sale.  She want $5,500 for him.   I’m sorry to say, but after everything I’ve been through with horses in the last 5 years or so, I find it very suspicious that a once 30+ thousand horse is listed for sale at $5,500 and the owner is willing to sell him to me for $2,000.  That’s one hell of a price drop.    This horse has joint problems from his jumper days and needs maintenance and ulitmately I am not sure that I’m even being told honestly that his only issue is arthritis in his left stifle.  It’s probably more like untreated OCD in both stifles and bone chips in all four legs.  It does not exactly instill me with confidence, this whole “nearly too good to be true” horse.  An honest seller?   A cheap expensive horse?  A horse that’s sound for me?  Yeah, right….

The paint horse I posted about yesterday, I’ve been talking to the owner about him too.  I am not exactly very confident about that horse, either.  She says he does not know how to jump which is no problem at all. I don’t mind that.  But she says he gets worked everyday and she has issues with him not listening and not respecting her and she has to lunge him to acheive respect with him.  She says he’s easy to catch and handle and generally pleasant to be around, but she said sometimes she actually has to get off mid-ride and lunge him to get him to pay attention…..??? That sounds fishy to me.  Maybe it’s just that she’s not a good rider and can handle him better from the ground?  Maybe the horse is just a shit with a bad attitude?  Which really doesn’t sound like something I want to get involved in at all.

Add to that that the horse is over 2 1/2 hours away and his price just suddenly went up by $100 too… I just don’t think I want to drive all that way and risk investing (which ultimately means losing) money in a horse that sounds iffy from the start.

I wish my draft cross seller had a horse or two for sale but as of now, they do not.  They are 3 hours away, but they used to have at least 3 horses available at any given time that I would loved to have owned.

My trainer hasn’t gotten back to me about the possibility of a sale horse coming in to her barn for me, but that’s OK. I have no interest in any thoroughbreds.  I haven’t ridden in weeks, either and I am itching to get out and go riding. 

On top of that, Luke has been slowly getting lame and I need a vet to come out and check out what’s happening.  In early July, he threw a shoe, and since we were not showing, I just had the farrier pull the remaining shoe.  After that, he ran about 2 weeks later than I should have let him for a trim, so his feet got long.  He seemed a little off while being driven two times when his feet were long, and now he’s terribly foot sore in the driveway, which is very rocky.  He actually looked beautiful and sound driving the other day, but then when we took him in the driveway to walk around and cool off, he was very very sore over the rocky driveway. 

I’m worried about him and need to arrange a vet check on him.  I’ve got a day or two off work next week and think I’ll schedule something for then.  Last year when he was checked out for lameness, the vet noticed his right stifle might be a little problematic.  I think I see right stifle and left front foot issues in him right now.  We’ve never had a soundness issue with Luke, he’s always been solid like a rock and very stoic- even he had an abcess he never went lame because of it. 

Poor pookey pony.  😦 …..

So anyway, I will get Luke checked out and probably take a riding lesson or two here coming up very soon… back to the age old problem there.. do I lesson and not own, or do I own and not lesson? 

Ugh… which is better?

In other news, yesterday I did a new video of Luke and Dixie’s trick performances.  I’ll work on making a short YouTube video of it in the next day or two and let you know when it is up online.

Also! Be sure to check out my photography blog – I have several images from the weekend that I am so happy with!!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in draft horse, Driving, Hackney, Horses, miniature horse, Photography, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

