Let’s talk about something other than horses…

While horses are still a major part of my mindset every day, I would like to talk about another love of mine because horses aren’t the only thing.  I also love science fiction. All things science fiction, but years and years ago, when I was 11 or 12, I saw a movie on TV called Predator 2. 

Ok, maybe I had a screwed up childhood- but that’s a whole other blog which I have no intention of writing 🙂  Anyway, Predator captured me and I was hooked.  I watched Predator 1 after I saw Predator 2 and I really was hooked.  I had ALWAYS loved science fiction and Star Trek. My father is the author of a published Star Trek that was printed TWICE – 25th Anniversary edition and done in 80 languages.  So the love of Science Fiction (and possibly writing) was in my blood.

I love to write, too.  Of course, I’ve written Predator stories – and you can read some of them by clicking on my Predator Fan Fiction site in the blog roll.  I’ve also written books about horses – oh, wait, we’re not talking about horses today.

I’m not published, though. Like this blog, I just write because I like to.  Anyway, my Predator fan site goes in to a lot more detail about my love affair there, but suffice it to say, from the time I was 12 I started collecting every single thing Predator that I could possibly find.  And while my collection currently is boxed up, it consists of nearly every Predator magazine, comic, poster, model action figure and trinket on the planet.  I have not collected anything Predator related in years, so I am missing quite a bit of the re-vamped Predator collectibles. I  have a few things from AVP, but nothing AVP: Requiem related.

Needless to say, the reason I am talking about this is because a new rehash of Predator has graced the silver screen today – PREDATORS.  A sequel to 1987’s Predator, to replace Predator 2 as though it never happened.  What a shame… I liked Predator 2.. but only for the ending mostly !!

BTW- my name KShai1715 is Predator related.  K’Shai (that is said kuh-sai) is the name of my personal female Predator character that appears in my books.  Sometimes she’s human, sometimes Predator, but always K’Shai.  1715 is … any guesses??  1715 is the year enscribed on the flintlock pistol that the Leader in Predator 2 tosses to Danny Glover’s character at the end of the film.  A tribute to the Leader that is the leading male character in all my books.

So, I really liked Predator a lot.  I liked Predator 2 for what it’s worth, especially the ending, which added not 1, but 2 interesting twists.  And I was very happy to finally see a predator movie on the big screen, back in 2004 with Alien Vs Predator. 

Honestly though, I really did not like AVP. It could have been done a lot better. It was like Paul Anderson did not take making his movie seriously. There was poor plot, poor characters, bad acting, horrible cinematography, and laughable moments that should have been done a lot better.  They should have read my book.

AVP Requiem, on the other hand was much better.. and when I first saw the commercials for it, I thought they DID READ MY BOOK.  There were  ALOT of similarities.  I wrote my book back in 2002-2007… LONG LONG LONG before AVP Requiem was ever thought of.   Yes, it took me years to finish it, but that’s because I put it down and walked away from it for a few years until life pushed me back to it during a moment of inspiration and the time to sit in front of the computer for endless hours a day.  Not having a horse to ride had something to do with that… oops, there’s that word again.

Anyway, Requiem actually had some potential.  It had a decent set up, sort of, a decent plot, an interesting twist at the end, and good action. It was very dark – ie, it should have been filmed in daylight.  🙂  In my book, there’s surreal scenes of mass destruction and death but under bright, happily cloudy summer days.  It adds some odd contrast, since you normally think dark and dreary during bad times. 

Where was I? Oh, Predators…  so ACTUALLY, the Predator eficianado that I am – this movie actually looks GOOD. I’m looking forward to seeing it.  Yes, I know my child hood hero (predator) will be killed yet again for the umpteenth time — in my book, the Predators actually get to live 🙂   But all in all, it looks to be very similiar in story line to the original Predator, with pretty similar characters and more action and effects.  I really liked the storyline for Predator. It was a great film, with great creature effects and a believable plot and good enough acting to make it real. 

So far from what I see in the commercials, Predators look to hold up to those standards, add some twists, and of course, have a lot of… Predators.  🙂  Oh, and Adrien Brody… NIIIIIIIIICE 🙂  If you know what I mean.  This movie should be fun to look at it more than one way. 

And that’s what a sci-fi movie like this should be.  This isn’t Titanic.. it’s not Gone with the Wind…  It’s not the feel-good award winning movie of the year.  It’s supposed to be FUN.. fun to watch, fun to enjoy, and fun to eat popcorn to.  The creatures are supposed to be cool to look at (and Adrien Brody), and there’s SUPPOSED to be blood and explosions. 

I can’t wait to see it and I’ll be back to inform you all of my opinion.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in horse, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

