Second hurdle— a little bigger than wanted.

Well, I am glad I got the horse vetted. I am glad I did this right so I can feel confident that I am starting off with a good horse.

I’m currently shaking over the news, but it is news and the decision is made.  So my 3 days of hoping for a nice quiet new horse has now concluded. 

The vet came out and noticed right off on the cross ties that the horse was breathing kind of hard and suspected possibly that he may have heaves or allergies.  Could be just from the sweltering heat, or it could be from being in a stall.  He said time would tell in that situation.

Physically, he is weak in his right hip, so weak that he gives to pressure when applied and buckles down.  There is a concern area on his right front – he appears to have scar lines conincidentally right over the nerves on both sides of his pastern where you would denerve a horse.  The vet is not sure if he’s been denerved or if maybe he’s been treated with a long-term pain killer in his pastern to keep pain down.

Upon flexion they started with the right front and he flexed dead lame.

He’s going back and my trainer is right – a $500 horse is not going to suit my needs.  I think I will take a break from looking at horses for a while… do some saving. Take some lessons… and maybe cough up $5000.

Ugh.

I’m saddened. He is so sweet, but the vet’s advice is he is not going to be a hunter horse in anyway.  He is trail horse sound only.

I am not looking for trouble.

I regret ever taking him off the farm.  I hope the owners of the farm give me my money back that I paid for him as agreed and in writing.  I am nervous that they will not do that just because it’s hard to trust people.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in draft horse, Dressage, horse, hunter/jumper, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Second hurdle— a little bigger than wanted.

  1. onehorsefarms says:

    I am sorry. 😦

    I am sure in time you will find the perfect horse for you.

    • kshai1715 says:

      Thank you. I feel like a complete idiot. I mean I ride at a barn where the average cost of the horses in it is $12,000 and the board is over $500 a month. I don’t have that kind of money and then I show up with a lame, $500 horse hoping to make him a hunter.
      I’ve looked at numerous horses so far (as you can read) and this was the first one without a major *noticeable* flaw. This was the first one I took on trial, and it was a real eyeopener. I really think I need to sit back and save for another 2 or 3 years before I can think about buying another horse. It’s been 3 years since I got rid of Spyder, which was the last horse I bought.. so another 3 won’t kill me.

      I am so embarrased to go back there and pick the horse up to bring him back to his owners tonight. Ugh.

      • onehorsefarms says:

        Release yourself from shame. Not all horses out there are correctly priced. Do not pick a horse by its price but by its VALUE. 😉

        So you bought a $500 horse. You are smart, you know it would take lots of time and training money to get that $500 horse to competing level. Phoenix cost me all of $400 six years ago but I have invested considerably more than that over the years to make him the riding horse he is today!!!

        With horses you either pay a lot of money up front, or you get a project horse and pay the same (or more) over the years to get to that point. The second option is just more fun because you get the highs and lows of the training!

        The lameness issue is something else entirely. Common sense makes us think that a $500 underused horse wouldn’t have lameness issues… we would look more critically for leg problems with a high price tag competing horse that was overused… I would have taken the EXACT same chance you did. If someone else looks down their nose at you for being SMART and realizing that value comes before price, well I feel sorry for them for wasting so much money!!!!

      • kshai1715 says:

        I guess I didn’t think of it that way. I’ve only ever owned horses in the less than $2500 range. The most expensive horse I ever bought I paid $4000 for, and he turned out to be as much of a project as any cheaper horse. I eventually sold him when I just could no longer handle his needs. He did not adjust well to living at home with me and was a hyper horse at shows and could not be shown.

        Some of my very best horses I’ve paid $600, $1200, and $2000 for. I was hoping to stay in that same price range this time around…. But that was in a different state, a different decade, and a different cost of living/expense area. In that price range you could get a good, good, horse used or not. Around this area it seems anything less than $2000 is not going to be a nice open show horse. I wish I had $10 or $20 thousand to spend on a nice intermediate level hunter but I just don’t.

      • onehorsefarms says:

        But that was in a different state, a different decade, and a different cost of living/expense area. In that price range you could get a good, good, horse used or not.

        I am going to pull a Yoda on you and tell you that there is no difference between locations and timeframe, it is only “different in your mind.” Allow yourself the belief that good things can happen to you. 🙂

        If horses are outrageously expensive in your area, look outside your area. 😉 I live in Oregon (in Eugene, and close to Portland) if you need an ally in the area you can count on me to help with details, transport, whatever. 😉

        And… if you really do love draft crosses, you can pick up a PMU baby like Phoenix was for dirt cheap and spend the next few years making sure his/her training is perfect for the competing horse you want!

        This PMU ranch looks to be going out of business and their horses and foals are PHENOMENAL!!! http://www.mjmillarranch.com.php5-5.websitetestlink.com/main/forsale.php

Leave a Reply

