InLaw Mayhem..

Ok, well maybe not MAYHEM, but yesterday I had the unfortunate experience of spending a day with my inlaws.  I’ve had to be tortured into this numerous times during the course of my marriage so far, and don’t expect the pains to stop.  We went to the zoo, and my husband wanted his mom to come, so she could get away from his dad for a while and get out of the house.  His mom is around 75 and his father is 78.  He is feeble, crotchety, and miserable.  He can barely walk, can’t hear, and just is happy to sit and complain about all his ailments.  He is still living in Vietnam and while it is noble that he was a soldier, I can’t stand hearing stories about the war and then him complaining about he hates to talk about it and gets nightmares.  His mother is anxious, neurotic, scared of the world and hypertensive.  She’s high stress and believes that everything should be totally formal and women don’t belong anywhere other than serving their man in the kitchen.  She still lives in the 50’s.  It’s very frustrating.  And then of course, we went out to dinner, where my husband’s dad of course made nasty remarks to the waiter about how long the food was taking.  He’s rude and mean every time we go out with him, and I’ve said numerous times that I refuse to go out with them, but still… I get  no vote on the subject…

Anyway… I am going to look at a horse in a few minutes.  He does sound kind of promising. Plain bay, but 7 years old, he’s been broke and riding regularly since he was 2, knows his stuff, is sort of lazy, and is a 16.1 hand quarter horse.  He sounds good.  I hope he’s not lame or something.  He’s about an hour from me, so I’m off for a good drive today, with my husband, who is having his 41st birthday today.  We went to the barn this morning and my husband drove his hackney.  We cantered today for the first time ever.  Not that they need to, I just think they should.  My husband’s not very confident about cantering and since he’s been driving Luke for 3 years, it’s time to get confident about something new.  It took some convincing, but he cantered about 5 strides and then said “huh, that’s not much faster than a road gait”.  So hopefully, with some work here and there cantering in harness will be a new skill my husband can confidently develop.  They don’t compete in advance combined driving, so never have a need to canter, and thus, have never cantered.  Time to learn a new skill.  🙂

There will be pictures from the zoo up on my photography blog a bit later today, after I see the horse.  Please have a visit there… http://www.willowtreephotos.webs.com  or just click on the link on my blogroll to the right!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, Photography, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

