The search for a horse Part 200,131.8

LOL.  Like the title?  Or should I call it “Changing my mind for the 10,000,000th time”??  Heee hee.
Truth be told, I don’t want to give up on looking for a horse (and of course, hopefully buying and owning one again). I just want it to be the right horse – not the most perfect horse ever – just the horse that’s perfect for me.  Perfect for me is a gelding under $2,000, 15.3hands or taller and between 7-14 years old that is quiet and I can ride and “click with”.  Overall, it’s going to be the personality of the horse (more than actual training) that does it for me.  Can I ride the horse and click with it?  Can I handle the horse and feel comfortable with him?

I have gone to look at quite a few already that were in all the criteria, but then some were lame, some lacked so much training that they would have needed total re-starts, and I just didn’t feel like I clicked with any of them.

It’s frustrating for me, because I ride at an A barn but don’t have A circuit money. I can’t afford board there, and cannot afford to show with the barn’s show team, which is fine, because I can’t afford a horse worthy of  A showing anyway, and I wouldn’t want to show to that level.  One day of horse showing in a few classes is tiring enough.  Going for 3 days would be so hard to do it’s not even funny.  What I do want is a horse to ride 3-4 days a week, jump once (or twice) a week, and take to a handful of small shows.  It doesn’t need to have buku crazy training, just needs to be quiet and nice and know how to walk, trot, and canter under saddle.  I wouldn’t think that this would be so hard, but it really is…

Quite a few people just never call you back.  It’s not my responsibility to hunt people down to make them sell me their horse they have listed for sale in the first place.  That paint horse I looked at last week, I liked him, but he was lame. I suspect he was more lame than just a stone bruise.  The owner never called me back for a second look, but I wasn’t going to go anyway.  Another person was going to contact me back after our phone conversation, with pictures and more information, and never did.  And a barn owner was going to call me to set up to look at half a dozen horses he has in my price range and other requirements.  He never did.  I’m not going to force something to work, just like with that lease horse.  If it’s not meant to be, it’s just not meant to be.  Forcing the wrong to work will keep me from finding the right one.

I am trying to make this is simple as possible, but it’s turning out to be very difficult.  But, hark! I do have a prospect in sight.  I need to find out more information about him, but right as of now, he sounds about right for what I’m looking for.  10 year old, 15.3 hand, has had professional training in the past.  Great price, and the owner doesn’t have time for him and is concentrating on getting a smaller pony for her 4H child to show.  He sounds really promising.  The biggest problem is that he’s so far away from me (over 3 hours), that by the time I could get to see him, he’ll probably be sold.  But for now, he’s promising…

The pictures aren’t wonderful, but he is cute.  So far, he’s the right size, and he doesn’t have the “crazy eye” or watcheyes, and he looks to be nicely conformed.  His back isn’t five miles long, and he looks like he’s built pretty well.  He doesn’t scream navicular conformation, either.  I’m hoping he is actually sound and I can’t wait to talk to the owner more about him.  He looks like a nice, nice horse that’s unmuscled from being out of practice.  I don’t have any problem with that.  If there’s anything I know I can do for – it’s fatten and muscle up a horse!

He reminds me a little of Luke when we first bought him (condition wise).  Luke, our hackney pony we bought for my husband, was totally unmuscled, thin, and really out of shape looking.  He really hadn’t been used in a long time and hadn’t been driven in years before we bought him.  We just knew right away that he was going to work for us, and everything clicked.  Luke was also about 3 hours away.  Thankfully, the owners were kind enough to meet us halfway with the pony, so when we went back to buy him, we didn’t have to drive the whole way.  We met in a school parking lot and transferred the pony, LOL. Probably not the wisest idea, but thankfully he was a good loader 🙂

Here is the only picture of Luke we were given before going to see him:

This was taken 3 years before we saw him, and the only time his owners ever drove him.

When we bought him and took him home, this is what he looked like:

Really unmuscled.. not really thin, but just not built up, not filled out, and he was carrying strangles and started a minor outbreak in the barn.  Awesome.

And now.. the pookey pony in all his glory, taken a few days ago:

There’s a slight difference 🙂 LOL.

Hopefully I will be able to show the difference between those pictures I just posted of the palomino today and in a few months after some training and fattening.  I like my horses fat and sassy 🙂 LOL.  They should all be like that.  I think the palomino looks very sweet and pleasant.  And if all goes well, I will maybe see him this weekend still, I’d be willing to take a drive down there tomorrow.  I would need to act quickly, if he’s sound and sane like they say, he will not last long.  Hopefully he’s not sold already.  It would be nice to have a quarter horse again.  I really liked my buckskin, and I loved my quarter horse cross from years ago, and I had a paint that I enjoyed too.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Buckskin, Driving, Hackney, horse, hunter/jumper, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The search for a horse Part 200,131.8

  1. Tracie Noel says:

    Hi,”Someday”-
    I just found your blog via your Fugly link,a nd I’m loving what you’ve written so far! I am especially amazed at your description of what kind of horse you’d like, and what you’d like to do with him. THAT SOUNDS LIKE ME!!!! If I was on the market, which ever-so-sadly, I am not, that is totally what I’d want. Same price and age gelding. Ride 3-4 times a week, jump twice, small shows. I would also plan to board him at my last lesson barn, which is a mix of A-circuit, fox hunters, and more “casual” kids and adults. I think our only real difference is I do have my heart set on a TB or Appendix. I grew up riding TBs and just adore them… would love to adopt an OTTB from one of the excellent retraining orgs, such as the Secretariat Center. Anyway, I am bookmarking your blog and will be following your horse search with great interest. I have been riding H/J since age 5 and never owned my own (your husband’s Hackney is a doll, BTW)or even leased, but SOME DAY I will have my own! 🙂
    By the way, isn’t Fugly great? I have been a faithful reader for three years, learned a ton, laughed, cried and been thoroughly entertained. My day is not complete without my Fugly visit (I think my family is sick of hearing about it, LOL).
    Keep up the excellent writing! You do a super job, too!

    • kshai1715 says:

      Well thank you! I love the Fugly blog! It’s so interesting! We certainly do seem to have a lot in common. Hopefully some day I’ll be blogging about my new horse, not about my search for the new horse… but for now… the search goes on. It is proving to be impossibly difficult to find what I’m looking for at my price range. I was told that it would be, but I still believe I will find it.

Leave a Reply

