Reasons to be happy today!

No, it doesn’t have to do with horses.   My husband had his biopsy yesterday, and after a very long day, which involved of sitting in a surgical waiting lobby at a very busy hospital, listening to a family nearby be loud and cackle laughs and play their PSP’s and cell phones too loud, the doctor came out and let me know the results…. the biopsy showed that the area suspected to be tumor was not.  My husband is cancer free.  After  2 weeks of stress and scare, it’s time to be happy and move on.  Besides from a few re-check visits throughout the year, including one next week, he is good to do and no sign of the sarcoma tumor that had been growing in his sinus was found.  Yay!!!

We are both off for vacation (stay-cation as they call it) this week and into the next.  It’ll be a good break from work, and the weather, although being very tempermental with incredible thunder storms and heavy rains and then intense sunlight and heat, should be pretty decent for at least a few days.  We’re planning to visit a zoo and pretty much just hang around the house and relax.

I have a riding lesson scheduled today.  My first one in 2 weeks and it’s on a horse I do not like and do not get along with very well, but I opted for that.  I do OK with this horse, but not as well as I do with others, and this horse scares me a little.  He’s your typical thoroughbred.  He doesn’t get fast or rush fences, but he does not bend to the left at all and doesn’t like his face being messed with, so when you use the reins to try to encourage a bend, he gets a little mad and has done a few things to me that I don’t like.  But, I’m looking forward to my lesson today, and may take another one in a day or two depending on what all we have going on at home.

I’d like to work on getting pictures taken for some of the photography contests, because I need to mail in my entries by Monday, since they are due at the end of next week.  With that in mind I’d like to take what I call ” a drive”.  My husband has agreed to go, too, as long as we stop at a particular place in Wisconsin for some cheese and candies.  No problem.  On “a drive”, something I used to do when I was younger, and lost the tradition in the last 12 years or so… we just drive.  I like to drive, and I like to explore and see new things.  It’s really amazing what you can find in just a short area around you if you just take roads you don’t normally go on.

In past “drives” I’ve explored most of Eastern, PA, visited Charlestown race track in Virginia, been to Maryland and parts of lower and eastern New York and New Jersey.

We only went on one “drive” last year, and my husband drove, and proved he wasn’t very good at “driving”.  He had a destination in mind and a purpose for getting there and the turning around and going back.  That’s not the point of a “drive”.  A “drive” is just to travel around, aimlessly… go down the dirt road you’ve never been on before and then turn onto another road you don’t know.  Explore some country side and see some new areas.  I’m hoping there will be some good picture opportunities to be found on our drive, too.  For added fun, I think I’ll pack a cooler with a picnic lunch, too.

I’d also like to do a little horse shopping, and I think I will be visiting a barn with some sale horses offered all the time.. not exactly a sale barn, but a barn with horses for sale.  I don’t expect it to come up with anything, because I think my trainer is right.  This area is so high dollar that even the low level horses are $5,000-$10,000.  The horses under $5,000 are just crap, and the horses in my price range f $2,000 are laughable.  Or just not what I am looking for.  Too young, too old, too lame, too green.  Not what I need.

At the moment, I have no prospects for purchase, and nothing I’m even close to looking at.  I wish my lease on the big gray thoroughbred did not fall through, but I refuse to let the girl’s friends come and ride and haul the horse that I’m leasing.  That is ridiculous.  I recently noticed she is re-running the ads for him… and has him for sale or lease.  It says she’s looking for a local lease, but is willing to consider a farther out lease.  So she’d rather lease the horse farther away, or sell him, than lease him to me, who lives 10 minutes from home, because I won’t let her friends ride the horse.  What the hell is wrong with this girl????  I hope she finds another local person to lease the horse for the next 4 years and will agree to having her friends come ride him and use him for drill team.  Ironic that none of her drill team friends will actually lease the horse – they just want to ride him and use him.

Yea, good luck with that.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, horse, hunter/jumper, Photography, Riding, Thoroughbred and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

