Feeling pretty bummed today…

I know now I am definitely deluding myself by ever thinking I am supposed to own a horse again.  The other day, right about when I was posting my last post, I was also perusing Craigslist and ran across an ad from a 60+ gentleman a few towns over that is looking to rehome his 15-16 yr old fleabitten gray thoroughbred.  The man hurt his back and has not been able to ride in 2 years.  He really likes the horse and was ideally wanting to ideally trade the horse for a small pony for his grandkids to ride.  He was overwhelmed with responses for the horse, but was not able to find a sufficient pony in trade.

So now, he’s going to bring the horse to a public arena, and have a handful of people, out of 14 that responded to the ad within a half hour, come look at the horse and bring their saddles to try him.  It’ll be like a “feeding frenzy” of people that arrive, with their trailers, I’m sure, to get a free and very nice horse.  I’m sure the horse has some arthritis, and probably needs a lot of “bringing back” after his vacation, but he is a made and experienced field hunter, a previous lesson horse, and had been an older gentleman’s safe and trustworthy mount for several years.

I’m sure he’d be perfect for me …. and probably everyone else coming to look at him too.  For free, he’s definitely worth a look. I’d be crazy not to go. Only problem is?  I’ve got to go to my husband’s parents house an hour away this afternoon for the formal high society dinner to celebrate a combo of father’s day and a birthday.  My husband’s mother has to everything be just right and always prim and proper.  She’s a total freak about holidays.  If you don’t celebrate Mother’s Day on Mother’s Day it isn’t Mother’s Day.  Of course, since it’s just Father’s Day tomorrow, and his Dad could care less about holidays, then it’s OK to celebrate it today.  My husband doesn’t want to be bothered with going anywhere on a Sunday, so he’s being sure we’re going today and I’m obligated to go with him.

Then he has the nerve to ask me why I’m acting angry.  Really????  Because I want to go at least look at the horse and see if he’s worth my effort.  This is making me very mad, but it’s just one more reassurance that my life is not my own anymore and the things I want out of it are just not meant to be.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse, Riding, Thoroughbred and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

