Rainy week blues!

It’s been raining here in Illinois for 3 days pretty much non stop, although last night was the worst.  It thundered and “lightninged” starting around 6 pm last night and here it is now 15 hours later and it’s still going …..  I couldn’t believe the driveway to exit the development where I live – flooded completely clean across the whole lot, past several homes, right out onto the street that run alongside the area.  And it’s DEEP water. 

There’s a good 8″ deep lake in the parking lot of the grocery store too, and the alley behind my work is totally flooded out.  Kind of fun to drive through, but really really deep water.

The barn where we board sits on fairly low ground, and the roads to get there run along side the river, which usually floods with just a little rain.  This constant downpour I’m sure is going to cause serious issues. I won’t be surprised to see sandbags in front of all the river front homes.  Living 30 feet from the river bank will do that to you. Personally, I don’t see the appeal.

I haven’t been to the barn since Monday, so I’m looking forward to going tonight.  Got to clean the trailer and groom and clip the pony to get ready for the horse show Saturday. I am a little concerned with all the rain that the show grounds will be a mess.  The showgrounds are in fairly low terrain too and with the non stop rain for the last 3 days, and overflowing water from the surrounding areas, it could be a real mess down there. Hopefully the show won’t be cancelled or anything, but also hopefully the grounds won’t be sopping wet.

The rain is supposed to stop after today and the temperature is supposed to pick up from under 50 all week to finally hitting 70 today, tomorrow, and Saturday.  I guess we’ll just plan for the show and see what happens.  They have an indoor arena, so I’m betting all the classes will be inside rather than taking advantage of the beautiful outdoor arenas, grass arenas, and obstacle course.  Oh well.  They should still have decent turnout none the less, I hope.

In the mean time, I’ve got the show harness cleaned, the new show whip packed in my car, a couple other things ready to go and the brake lights on the little trailer should be working now.  LOL. That disaster hath ended. Thankfully.

I am looking forward to hopefully riding the horse I’ll be leasing, too.  I was supposed to ride Tuesday, but with the rain, I couldn’t.  There’s no indoor where he’s currently living, it’s just a backyard set up.  If the weather gets decent, I’ll ride Sunday morning I think. And maybe I’ll get the hubby to come along and take pictures. It’s right on the way to somewhere he wants to go anyway, so he may be willing to come.

Mostly this week has been tiring and dull and for some reason I have been very lackluster.  I am pretty tired, I think the dark and gloomy weather is draining life right out of me. I don’t want to get up in the morning, just want to stay in bed, and haven’t been up to par during the day. I’ve just been a little “off” all week at work and home, and even skipped the barn Tuesday and Wednesday. I feel guilty when I don’t go out for 2 days in a row. I hate that.  I usually try to go every other day or sometimes a couple days straight, even in winter.

It has just been a very yucky week, but I’m looking forward to a little bit of light on Saturday (literally – the only sunny day in the forecast!!)

Have a visit to my other sites (listed on the right!) Thanks!!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Buckskin, Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, Illinois, Photography, Riding, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

