The One

By Jove, I think I dunnit.  I think I really have.  I think I found “the One”  The One people.. The One.  The Big Doozie, the Real Deal, Theeeee One.

I am slightly excited about this horse. Just a little. He’s OK. I mean, he’s just blah, whatever, so be it.

LOL.  Not really.

When I first moved to this area, one of the first things I did after securing my job as an equine technician was to hunt down barns to ride at.  I “sampled” all the barns in the area, either took lessons or looked at horses to shareboard/lease or both.  I went to one barn and looked at 2 horses to shareboard.  One was a 20 something bay TB that was an ex showjumper and eventer. It was an eventing barn.  The lady rode him for me and he bolted across the arena jumping off the ground and bucking like crazy within seconds of her sitting on him.  I passed on that one. 

The other one was a gray TB, it was young, very young. I thought he was 4, but now that I think about it more, they might have said 6.  He was very sweet. And very quiet. I walked trotted him and had some trouble just keeping him moving.  I actually thought he was neurologic or something. He dragged his hind legs.  I passed on the horse.

After seeing this TB yesterday and talking in length with the owner, I think it’s the same horse!!!! LOL.  How fate comes back around.  Maybe this was meant to be.  The horse no longer drags his back legs and the owner talked about trying all kinds of evaluations, and EPM treatment and everything and it turned out he just needed chiropractic work.  Once he got his back and hips snapped around a little, he was fine.

And boy, is he fine.  He could use a little weight and some muscling. I like horses with nice solid necks and bodies, and I think sometimes when they ride Western a lot and use a tie down especially, they’re not really using those muscles as well as they should be to define them really nicely.  He could use just a touch of weight, not much – just some “fill”.  He’s by no means underweight.  He’s really wonderful.  And he’s never raced- which is awesome. No lip tatoo even.  Whooo!

He has a head on his shoulders and he’s quiet and gentle and laid back.  He’s got real get up and go when you need it, but he’s asked to halt- man does he halt! He stood like a rock solid and quiet while his rider would swing around and sit sideways.  He would gallop across the arena while she vaulted off him , swap leads, performing in synch with 11 other horses, it was really need to see drill team practice. 

I know from my own experiences over the years the personality I need in a horse to be able to handle and he meets and exceeds everything I could want out of a horse.

Naturally, of course, I do need to actually ride him myself to make the final decision, but based on everything I saw and was told, I know he’s going to be splendid!  I can’t wait to ride him.  Currently I’m trying to work out a time to do that. Between her schedule and my schedule it’s going to be a little tricky.  I’ve got work all day and in the evenings either I’m busy with the hubby forcing him to work his pony to get ready for the upcoming show (which he’s already giving me grief about), or she’s busy.

Speaking of that, I don’t undertstand my husband. He’s got a beautiful pony that he loves to show off, but doesn’t want to show.  He’s not interested in the classes or the competition, but he won’t let me show the pony, either. He says if he’s got to haul to the show, he’s going to be the one to show, because it’s his pony – but then he’s got a big show coming up and he’s complaining about doing it and being there all day and everything else you can come up with.  Me? I can’t wait to get that Thoroughbred into a show ring- I’d be so happy to have my chance at a hunter under saddle class or equitation class that I can’t wait to do it, and the husband, who’s got a beautiful proven winner can’t be bothered with it.  I don’t get it…. anyway…

That’s all the plusses. The minus side is that I have to wait to August before leasing him! LOL. UGH!!!  AUGUST!  That sucks!!

On the plus side again though, I’ll be able to ride him 1 to 2 times a week until then, and take him to lessons with my trainer.  So I’ll get 3 months to get used to him before he comes home, so that will be great.  I can be totally familiar with him, and he me, and the owner, too, all before I take him.

There’s going to be a lot to finalize about this lease, but once it’s all said and done, he’ll be mine for what seems to be the next 4 years while she’s in college.  And who knows what could happen in that time – that’s a long long time to plan, and it’s not possible at this point to predict the outcome of this.  Maybe I’ll want to end the lease sooner, maybe she’ll turn over ownership to me.  Who knows.

Regardless, this is a wonderful horse that’s going to be a real treat to have (for free) and I feel very lucky to be able to work this out with the owner.

I can’t wait to go ride him!  I’ll try to get some pictures when I go, otherwise, maybe next time.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Buckskin, draft horse, Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, hunter/jumper, Hunters, Illinois, Jumpers, Photography, Riding, Science Fiction, Thoroughbred and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

