A paint horse on the horizon

Well, I’ll don’t know if I’ll be buying it or not, but I am going to look at the little paint horse from the other day.. this one:

I’m excite too.  He’s in my price range, age range, behaviour and training range (lol) and seems like he can pretty much fit my bill just fine.  I know I say I want to show, so people automically seem to draw up a mental image of a flowy, fancy, prize winning warmblood or thoroughbred, and figure on me spending thousands.   I recently just had some guy tell me about a great show prospect he’s got that been dropped in price from $18,000 to $5,000.  It’s 4 years old and in California, so if I want to foot the hauling halfway back across the country bill, I can have a world class show horse for a fraction of the price.  WHAT?  REALLY?

That’s not what I want. I’m not looking for buku crazy show horse that I can do the ultimate horse shows on.  I want a nice, quiet and calm (aka safe) gelding that I can have fun with , go to small fun 1 day long open shows, and generally just enjoy.  That’s what I’m looking for.    Just becuase I want to show doesn’t mean I want a national competitor!  I just want to have fun and enjoy a horse. I  want something that can be versatile – pleasure hack, trail ride, jump a little, show a little, maybe even learn to drive a little, and do some tricks.  A jack of all of trades, master of none, that’s quiet and fun and enjoyable.  And it does sounds like this paint horse fits those bills.  He may be a tiny bit too small for me, at only 15.2 hands but I’ll have to see. 

 One thing is for sure – all that white will never stay clean at my boarding barn 🙂 LOL!!

On a side note, I just have to say that the same sellers of this horse also have many more, and maybe some of those horses are worth the asking price, at least they have decent pictures to go with them that show off some redeeming quality (i.e. jumping/working, conformation, color) but this one mare really stands out to me.  Judge for yourself. 

This little pony mare is green broke to w/t/c  she’s a welsh/arab, so I’m not even sure if that can be registered at all? Half Arab maybe?  Anyway, they want $18,000 for this mare….

EIGHTEEN THOUSAND DOLLARS for a green broke pony that’s not registered and hasn’t done a damn thing in it’s life…

And this is the picture they use for her:

Really?   The ad for this horse refers to her grace on her feet and her exceptional performance under saddle, and the picture they use of her to reflect her $18,000 asking price is that of a frumpy dressed, slouched over girl with her feet out of the stirrups and the horse just standing there like a lump.

For $18,000, I’d expcet to see pictures more like this:

You know.. pictures that actually show your $18,000 at work and what it can do and why you should spend that money on the horse?  Ok, even a green broke 5 year old can still have WORKING pictures (with a properly dressed rider), even if it has no show experience.  Show off the gaits that are described as being so lovely.  Really.  It’s just absurd. I know it’s not the worst sale picture in the world, but still… put a little effort in to it.  That pony looks like a $1200 pony if that, not worth Eighteen grand.

At least the paint horse I’m going to see is far less expensive, and I can see him working in those pictures.

I’ll keep my fingers crossed for myself.  We’ll see what happens.  Don’t forget to check out my YouTube channel and photography blog!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Buckskin, Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, Illinois, Photography, Riding, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

